I’m Back… And I’m Sunshiny, Apparently

Let’s cut to the chase, Matilda. I’ve been tagged.And because I particularly enjoy driving you all quite mad by repeating myself exactly eighteen times a month, I must declare loudly that I  love being tagged. Partly because they are fun but mostly because I am desperately lazy and tags require no brainwork. You just gotta answer them questions, Matilda. Nothing to it.Except for the part at the end where you have to think up some questions of your own, but let’s forget about that for the moment…

 

You may recall that I have been tagged for the Sunshine Blogger Award once before and if you do, I must say you have an excellent memory, Imaginary Sir. I admire you.

This time I have been tagged by the witty genius that is Evangeline from An Odd Blog. Have I mentioned she makes the most gorgeous headers?

I find it enormously amusing that two individuals actually thought me sunshiny enough to deserve this award. Magnanimously I allow them to continue living in this delusion…

And now! Brace yourself for rambling and more personal information about me than you asked for!

“what is your favorite fast food place?”

Thanks for asking, Matilda! In point of fact, I do not like fast food. To be specific, I don’t appreciate the great quantity of grease slathered all over the meat of fast food. Therefore I look upon all fast food and the buildings in which it is found and the beings who serve it with thinly-veiled suspicion. I like to be healthy, Larry. Didn’t you know? Sure, I devour deserts with a perfectly alarming appetite but when I’m not eating desert, I like to eat something healthy to make up for all the desert, follow?In the name of compromise, I will declare that I am rather fond of Chik-fil-a for they have mastered the art of making fast food-like food that actually appears to have some time and thought put into it. In other words, I am fairly certain the meat came from an animal and I can find it with relative ease… as opposed to McDonald’s where I could search for days and not find any traces of my long-lost patty.

“if you could learn any foreign language, which would it be?”

English seems like a decent place to start… also it would be rather useful as I am currently attempting to write a book in that language. Intrepid is my middle name, clearly.

But let us be serious for a moment, Matilda, for this is a rather serious question. I love languages, dude. I’ve taken three years of Spanish and would love to learn the basics in some of the other Romantic languages – French, Italian, and Latin, especially. Difficult languages like Russian, Mandarin, and Japanese look enormously fun. German sounds vaguely threatening, which makes it great for yelling at unsuspecting strangers. Greek is probably useful. I’m not picky.

If I have never said this before, I am saying it now: I adore books with multiple ethnicities – when well-researched, that is – because it affords me a chance to pick up a bit of a foreign language. Obviously we must emulate what we admire. For this reason, The Songless made me learn quite a few Swahili words and phrases and will hopefully force me to pick up a bit of Russian – a daunting task because Google Translate translates English into Russian letters and I cannot read it, Matilda! What am I to do? Metal Hands, Metal Soul should teach me some Japanese and French. And on a completely different – or is it? – note, Divided They Fall is apparently quite mathy and so I will probably emerge a mathematical genius when I have finished writing it.

“what is your personal favorite animated film of all time?”

Ouch, Matilda. Why such difficult questions?

I shall list all of them, even though you did not request this, because the list is brief. I don’t like animated films, generally.

And… I’m going to pretend you stipulated Disney animated films because that’s what we’re all thinking anyway, right? Go classic or go home, I always say.

Tangled, Mulan, Aladdin, and The Little Mermaid. Ta-daa!

“would you rather be stranded on a deserted island, Antarctica (with supplies to stay warm), or a rugged mountain?”

Alaska is my dream, but Antarctica is taking things too far. No, thank you, sir. But I am vaguely interested in these supplies? Is a pet seal included? A fluffy parka? An inflatable raft? I’ll take those, please.

Now I face a conundrum.

Deserted islands are always beachy. We all know this. But mountains… mountains, Gandalf!

Which to pick…

Let’s just go with the island. Lost instilled in me a fervent desire to crashland on a deserted island so that I can prove to the world that it is, indeed, possible not to be an absolute idiot in that situation…

“what is your favorite episode of Star Wars?”

Everyone take a deep, calming breath.

I. Have. Never. Seen. Star Wars.

Ever.

Please put down that knife, sir.

Image result for jack sparrow running away from cannibals gif

“what is your favorite school subject?”

Like Evangeline, I have a difficult time answering this question…

I like Literature, most of the time. I despise math. Anatomy is fun but rather difficult. Writing has never qualified as “school” in my household for some reason. Probably because I enjoy it.

“what is your favorite book that no one has ever heard of?”

All of them, Matilda, all of them.

Okay, okay. To name just a few… The Song of Seare trilogy by C. E. Laureano, The Witch of Blackbird Pond and Calico Captive by Elizabeth George Speare, and North To Freedom by Ann Holm.

 “which do you prefer: spaghetti or Chinese food?”

I love Chinese food! It’s so warm and comforting and steamy and crisp… perfection, I tell you. White rice is the best thing since whatever came before white rice, I say.

Not to slander you, Spaghetti. You are quite nice yourself. Pasta is also a marvelous invention.

And now comes the fun part…

I have had more than enough of this sunshiny frivolity. What if… what if I made my own tag… the Evil Writer Award? Hmmm? Would you play?

Well, you’re playing whether you like it or not, Matilda, because I’m doing it!

Here are your questions… Please answer these from a writerly perspective! I do not want to know how many people you have killed in real life, okay? Do. Not. Want. To know. Keep it to yourself, dear.

How many characters do you typically kill per book? And how many people have you killed in real life, dear? Do you… feel any remorse about this? I’m concerned about you.
Do you prefer to use weapons of mass destruction like explosions and famine and world war or more personal torture like killing family and friends and pets?
Are you more like Loki, who perpetrates great evil with a creepy grin, or… give me a minute… Darth Vader, who secretly weeps inside his… fake head, whilst destroying the world? 
What is the most dastardly crime you have ever committed as a writer? 
What kind of chocolate do you most like to devour as you burn things? White, milk, semisweet, or dark? Bonus points if you are so evil you find unsweetened cacao palatable!
What is your villainous title? You may not have “Evil Overlord” because that one’s mine.
Which of your characters would actually be a match for you if you were to duke it out one on one?
Which character, in all the many books you have undoubtedly written, is most likely to be your Archnemesis?
Do you wear a cape? Face paint? A mask? Special underpants? Or do you hide in plain sight… like Moriarty? Give me details!
I think it is evident to everyone that I have exhausted every possible line of questioning here. I was planning on doing eleven questions because who like even numbers? Not me, Matilda! But you’ll have to settle for nine. Apologies!
I guess I should invent some rules or something? Um. Give all the credit to me, for I am an evil genius, tag at least two other people and please do invent some more questions if you can think of any!
Now! I tag…
Kenzie, Anna, Jethan, and monkeyeverything because we were cabinmates for Camp NaNo and they are so much fun, and Christine because she sometimes does tags if they are writerly, and Cait because she doesn’t tell us nearly enough about her writings! Oh, and Ruby because she wears my Favorite Person badge!

Whew! Long post! Are you guys still awake? What is one book you love that no one knows exists? Who is your favorite Disney princess? Would you rather be stranded on a desert island or a rugged mountain? Do you own a parka? Do you know English and can you teach me?

38 thoughts on “I’m Back… And I’m Sunshiny, Apparently”

  1. “WHAT HAVE IIIIII DONE? WHAT HAVE IIIIII DONE? HOW COULD IIII…BE SOO BLIIIIIIND? ALL IS LOOOOST. WHERE…WAS III??? SPOILED ALLLLLLL. SPOILED ALLLLLLL. EVERYTHING’S….GONE ALL WROOOOONG… WHAT HAVE IIIIII DONE? (This has been, Kenzie virtually sings a Nightmare Before Christmas Song.)

    Like

  2. YESSSS!!! I AM FREEEEEE!!!! MWAHAHAHAHAHAHA!!!

    Oh yeah, I thought that was why you put the pause! I just realized how odd of a word it was, haha! 😂😂 And I can’t remember if I meant to put ‘taste’ or ‘smell’, bahahahahahaha!!! 😂😂😂😂 But yes??? Maybe???? I can’t remember what it smells like, actually, but it tastes terrible! 😂😂

    Like

  3. *breaks you out of jail* *muahahahahaha*

    I LIKE HANKERING!!! I just put that awkward pause in because I can’t imagine anyone having an especial hankering for mullets and togas but if the fit ever comes upon me….

    Wow, it even smells bad???

    YES DO!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. BAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA!!! *crying*

    Definitely separated at birth! And totally genetically altered… NORMAL IS FOR LOSERS ANYWAY! *glances nervously at FBI coming up the front lawn*

    Hankering was a very strange word choice. I cannot understand why I used it. HANKERING. See? It’s just bizarre.

    Eewwwwww! I’m not sure I like ANY cabbage, to be honest??? But warm cabbage is like the worst thing ever. And it smells so PTTTTHHHHHHPPPPPP. (That was me making a farty noise with my tongue, just so you know.)

    AWWWW! WHY THANK YOU! I shall try to include many backstories, then! 😂

    Like

  5. You’ll totally get it in time!! *nervous laughter*

    Yep! Separated at birth! Or altered. Or… something. We’re definitely not NORMAL HAHAHAHAHHAHAHAHA THAT WOULD BE SO WEIRD.

    I’ll let you know when I get THAT particular…. “hankering.”

    Agreed! I love crunchy uncooked cabbage because delish but my dad cooked up this head of purple cabbage and it was beyond disgusting and I told him so in no uncertain terms. 😉

    EEEP, I cannot wait!! Your backstories are ABSOLUTELY my favorite part!!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Why, yes, they definitely are!!! XD

    Yeah… I forget a lot of letters and signs, too… It’s sort of difficult to remember everything, but then again, it’s technically like learning a new language, so it’s gonna be confusing at first, right??? It’ll get better, RIGHT???? *dies*

    Ooooh!! Yes, OBVIOUSLY! We are the smol special snowflakes with genetically altered brain tissue!

    Okay, so that is probably the strangest-yet-extremely-accurate description of Star Wars I’ve ever heard?? But you should try them if someday you get a hankering for mullets and weird togas!

    It really is delicious! And yuck, I know! Egg rolls are like the bane of my existence. Besides tea, of course… Warm cabbage=NO

    I’M SO EXCITED TO GIVE THEM! And spill my guts, because questions always deserve INTENSE BACKSTORIES, obviously. 😛

    Like

  7. Ha! I looked at it myself and you are right! Apparently you have to go in and customize for either your blog title to appear?! #whut

    So I’m doing that now…

    THANK YOU SO MUCH FOR POINTING IT OUT!!!!

    Like

  8. Okay, something definitely isn’t right, then… because on all my devices that I’ve tried looking at it on, it hasn’t had a title or a sidebar, or really anything except your posts in black and white…..

    Like

  9. Hmmmmmm… I thought there was a title. And there should be a sidebar! #odd I do plan on customizing the header, so that ought to add a bit of color, at least…

    Like

  10. Thank you! My naming skills are non pareil, obviously.

    #cabinreferences

    I can fingerspell but that’s about it… and I always forget certain letters. R and Q and F…

    Yeah… someone genetically altered us as fetuses to have identical brains… it’s all part of an evil plot. Obviously.

    Exactly. Old. Which means papier mache rocks instead of real ones and weird toga things and awful hairstyles including mullets… ewwww. But, I will try them out – one of these days!!!

    Mmmmmmm! Sesame chicken sounds delicious!! But egg rolls are gross and honestly I do not think that Chinese people invented them because Chinese is so good??? So how did they invent something so gross???

    EEEP, can’t wait to see your answers!!

    Liked by 1 person

  11. This is your new theme?? But there is no title! No sidebar! It is black and white!?! Am I missing something!!! 😦

    Like

  12. Dude, I totally didn’t even think about fooooood!!! #practical

    But you’re right – coconuts and fish are ewwwwwww. I do, however, like mangoes and other fruit.

    Ooooh, The Otherworld, you say??? Clearly I need to add this to my TBR… Agreed. The traumatizing ones are the only ones worth reading. 🙂

    Like

  13. I LOVED THIS!! THIS WAS SO GREAT. And I’m wildly monstrously pleased to be tagged for the evil author questions. Thank you. 😈 I shall get onto that immediately. 😂
    Also I think I’d pick a rugged mountain?? Because you can like kill a moose and eat poison berries or whatever there, while on a desert island you have to eat coconut and fish, aka two of the MOST HATED THINGS ON THIS PLANET. Seriously, I choose death over eating a crab. I just…nope. So mountain it is. I would probably die either way tho. I WAS BUILT FOR INDOORS AND HOBBIT HOLES.
    Also I read a spectacular book called The Otherworld and omggg it’s completely underrated and gorgeous and tragic and kind of punched me in the feels. The best kind of books are the painful ones. :’)

    I loved reading your post!!

    Like

  14. Oh okay!!! I DO NOT APOLOGIZE THEN, MWAHAHAHAHAHA!!!

    Ohhhhhh! Well, that definitely makes sense. You picked a wise name, dear bean!

    Yes!!!! Get as far away from the deadly McNuggets as you possibly can!!!!! THEY ARE EVIL!!!! *locks doors*

    I love how we’re all using the pegleg guy’s voice now. It must be a cabin thing… And yeah, it’s pretty hard, but SO MUCH FUN!!! I love learning the different signs and how to form sentences and everything!!

    EEK! Yet another reason why we are #twinsies! (There are just way too many coincidences for this to be random…)

    Well, I mean they’re sort of OLD, so they’re going to be SLIGHTLY lame, but trust me!!! The episodes with Anakin are pretty cool!!! I really like Star Wars, actually…

    OH, WELL THAT MAKES SENSE, THEN! OH OH OH!!! We go to this Chinese Restaurant sometimes, and they have this really good Sesame chicken that I put on rice, and it is DELICIOUS!! And I LOVE sweet and sour chicken! I have never had dumplings, though… BUT I MUST TRY! I am glad we agree that egg rolls are the FRUIT OF DEATH.

    Oh no no no, the questions are amazing!!! I cannot wait to play! And if they are all about clothing, then we shall be fantabulously dressed overlords! MWAHAHAHAHAHA!

    Like

  15. Don’t feel too bad. I’ve never seen Star Wars either, but I hear it’s quite amazing.

    CHINSE FOOD! I’ve been craving it A LOT recently. Fried rice, sweet and sour chicken, fortune cookies…*drools*

    Like

  16. You can’t apologize for long comments. I RESERVE THAT RIGHT TO BE ENTIRELY MY OWN, SIR.

    I love how interested in Matilda everyone is! 😉 I needed a name to yell things at, that’s all. Matilda is entirely imaginary. 🙂

    *does CPR on your lifeless body* Wow! I am so glad I avoided the McNuggets!! Yikes!! LOCK YOUR DOORS AT NIGHT, KENZIE!!!

    EEEEppp!! That is beyond awesome! I wanted to learn sign language… once… (to be said in the pegleg guy’s voice, please. Thank you.) Anyway, it was kind of a fail, unfortunately…

    Same!!! Awww, you cute little Bilbo!! *pats head gently*

    Really??? OKAY OKAY I WILL, PUT DOWN THE KNIFE, MORTY!!! *mutters* Aaallll the episodes look lame…

    OKAY EGG ROLLS ARE DISGUSTING!! DO NOT EAT THOSE!!! Eat the steamed vegetables and the white rice and the sweet and sour chicken and the dumplings and the chicken salad (okay that is Vietnamese, I am getting off topic…) and the TERRIYAKI BEEEEEEEEFFF!!!!

    I repeat: Egg rolls are gross. Do not consume.

    YAAYYYYYYY!! HONESTLY I THOUGHT IT WOULD BE REALLY COOL AND THEN MY BRAIN FROZE UP AND I COULDN’T THINK OF ANY GOOD QUESTIONS??? MOST OF THEM ARE ABOUT FOOD AND CLOTHING SOMEHOW??? Oh, dear…

    Liked by 1 person

  17. Same!! Languages are fascinating and beautiful things! But unfortunately require a time investment?? Like what is this??? I want learning to be instantaneous???

    Ah, yes. The old Johnny-Depp-gif fallback!! 🙂 OH GOO- WAIT WHAT?? A LIGHTSABER??? (Fun fact: I could probably hold my own in a lightsaber battle?? Even though I’ve never seen the movies, my brothers and I were obsessed with Stormtroopers and Yoda so we got lightsabers for Christmas and had some pretty epic battles. ;))

    But the question stipulated that you were stranded either way???

    HUZZAH FOR EVILLLLLL!!! I KNOW, right??? ENOUGH OF THIS SUNSHINY MADNESS!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  18. Thank you!!

    Yes, Chik-fil-A is The Awesome!! Exactly! Very bad for you, very bad tasting, very hard to find MEAT, very hard to tell if ingredients are plastic or not, very disturbing to my smol stomach…

    EEEEEKKK I DON’T KNOW???? Apparently I need to do that sometime! 😉

    As Jethan said, I have TRANSMUUUUUUUUUUTED it. Because I have Evil Powers.

    …MUAHHAHAHAHAHAHAHAH!!!

    Like

  19. HIIIIIIIII!!!! I have missed you guys so much!! *squeezes you all nicely* D’awwww!! You missed me??? *heart is now puddle on floor*

    Sorry, no!! But obviously I get why you do… when I was a little girl with a gut of iron, I did too. 😉 CHIK-FIL-A IS THE AWESOME. *fistbumps*

    Awwww!! Isn’t it just the sweetest thing?? I cannot handle it. I definitely like some non-Disneys as well – Big Hero 6, Monsters Inc., Up, Wall-E, How To Train Your Dragon eeeppp!!!, Lilo and Stitch… I just wanted to narrow things down a bit. 😉

    Ah, good! I’m not the only one!! *whispers* Honestly I don’t think I will like them when I DO get around to watching them??? Too many weird robes and mullets and tinfoil robots and papier mache rocks for me, thanks…

    WHAAAT??? But it’s so good… I DO LOVE ITALIAN THOUGH!!! YUUUUUMMMMM…

    Yayyyyy!!! It was very off-the-top-of-my-head, so… who even knows! 😀

    Like

  20. Ah, thanks, Matilda! YAS!!! All the love for Chik-fil-A!! MMmmmmmm… Chinese is so yummy… *cuddles all the Chinese*

    WHO CAN KNOW??? (Okay, so actually it was because everyone else has an imaginary friend to scream and throw things at and I felt left out, so…)

    Liked by 1 person

  21. GREEETINGS, WEARER OF THE SPECIAL BADGE. *bows elaborately*

    No way!! We are… twins??? Eeep, isn’t it the best when we can share awesome books with our friends/siblings/strangers/pets???

    I’m sooooorrry!!! I didn’t know there were strong feelings on the matter!

    Liked by 1 person

  22. Yay! Someone who can relate!!!

    Isn’t Latin simply gorgeous?? I want to learn it very much. 🙂 Oooh! You are German!! How cool is that?? I’m nothing in particular and I’m afraid I shall never recover from it… *pouty face*

    Oooh! Someone else who loves my beloved smol book!!! Elizabeth George Speare has a real gift at bringing the past to life for me…

    Like

  23. OH MY WORD THIS IS THE BEST!!! 😂😂😂 First of all, WHO IS MATILDA?? And where is she because she sounds like a very interesting person and I must meet her…

    Also! The whole ‘long lost party’s thing had me DYING. Literally DYING. I do eat at McDonald’s, because #food (sort of?) and while I actually quite enjoy their burgers, their McNuggets are LIVING DEATH and are out to murder me in my sleep. Not to mention their strawberry milkshakes are absolutely terrible, and join the McNuggets on their hunt for my blood.

    And I must say that foreign languages=nope when it comes to me. But I AM learning sign language… But it’s AMERICAN sign language, so not really foreign????

    If I received a pet seal for moving to Antarctica, I would move there in a heartbeat. And while islands are wonderful, I would CHOOSE THE MOUNTAINS, GANDALF!!

    *brandishes knife threateningly* WATCH STAR WARS! IT IS AMAZING! Well, the first three episodes are… Episodes 4-6 are kinda lame…

    And I had Chinese food once and IT WAS GROSS. Like, what is the purpose of an egg roll? To make me puke??? But your description of Chinese food makes me WANT an egg roll, so now I am confused…

    AND OH MY GOODNESSSS!!! Your tag looks amazing and hilarious, and I CANNOT WAIT to play! Thank you thank you THANK YOU for tagging me!!!!! Your questions are AMAZING!!!! EEEK!!

    This comment is slightly long, so I am sorry about that…

    Like

  24. Okay, I’m the same with the languages, I want to learn ALLL the languages! In an easy and convenient fashion…whoops.

    And I love that gif for the Star Wars answer. It’s perfect. And I’m surprised you haven’t seen Star Wars, but…I am not coming at you with pitchforks and torches. (Maybe a lightsaber? Nah…) xD
    I would go for the rugged mountain and not the island. The mountain you could walk off of if you need to get back to civilization. The other one. You. Are. Stuck. There.

    ALSO THANK YOU FOR TAGGING ME! ESPECIALLY BECAUSE IT IS AN EVIL AWARD!!! Seriously, I’m an overcast, rainy day sort of person, all of this sunshine is too much to take. 😛 xD

    -Jethan

    Like

  25. LOL I loved reading your answers
    AND YES CHICK FA LAY OR HOWEVER YOU SPELL IT IS AMAZIIIING!!!!!!!!!!!!! It’s awesome. I never eat fast food because it’s very unhealthy lol but CFL managed to get it to a healthier degree….
    Now I am very confused. How do you live wihtout watching Star Wars?? NOW I WILL FIND YOU AND DESTROY YOUR LIFE AND YOUR HOPES AND YOUR DREAMS HOW DARE YOU MENTION THAT YOU HAVE NOT WATCH STAR WARS AHHHHH!!!!!!!!
    Okay, I’m calm, I’m calm.
    And I’m also confused again. THANKS FOR TAGGIN ME BUT! I don’t know if I was tagged for the sunshine award or did you make up an Evil Writer tag and you tagged me for that…. HALP!

    Like

  26. YOU’RE BACK!!! 😀 I was literally JUST thinking how it’s been a while since you’ve posted, and I’ve been missing your posts!

    You…you don’t like fast food??? *clutches heart* I, erm, may be a little obsessed with like…ALL fast food. Ahem. You’re probably very, very wise to not eat that food that’s probably not food. But I just love it too much to give up! (And Chick-fil-a is amazing, that’s a given!)

    Tangled is my favoooorite animated film, tooooo!!! But…also ALL the classic Disney animated movies. …And new animated movies. I also adore How to Train Your Dragon! So a non-Disney movie gets some love, too. xD

    Guess what? I went yeeeeears of my life without ever seeing Star Wars. I’ve seen them now, but actually not all of them yet. And…well…I don’t really like Star Wars? I tried to! I DID. It’s just not my thing. So I may be the only person on this planet not judging you for never seeing them!

    But since we’re confessing shameful things, I have something to confess… *whispers*I don’t like Chinese food.*whispers* Spaghetti (or ANY Italian food) = LIFE. But Chinese food? Bleh. I don’t like any of it. *ducks and hides from the masses*

    Oh my gracious! Your tag you made up is HILARIOUS I love this!!! xD And I also love how you know me so well to know I’m way more enticed by writing related tags. *grins* I probably will end up having to do this one sometime. It’s fantastic!

    Like

  27. Your answer to that first question amused me to a delightful degree. 🙂 I agree with you, fast food is disgusting.

    And you mentioned Latin! By all means learn the basics of Latin. It’s quite the most beautiful language, in my humble opinion. Someday I should also like to explore German simply because I’m three fourths German m’self, but right now Latin and English are quite challenging enough. 😉

    The Witch of Blackbird Pond is a lovely book! I just read it the first time last summer.

    Liked by 1 person

  28. *displays badge proudly* Step aside, y’all.

    Also, one of my favorite books is literally The Witch of Blackbird Pond. My sister read it for the first time this year and it was her first “fangirl” book.

    (also how could you ever choose spaghetti over chinese?? is that even a choice??)

    Like

Leave a Reply

