Unedited: Pink

I am going to share some of my writing with you.

Related image

A short story, to be exact. In case you missed the title of this post… you moron.

This isn’t going to become a routine thing! I promise. I promise that this will not become a “please-critique-my-writing-for-me” blog. I don’t want to constantly demanding your validation and never give anything back.

Okay? Okay.

I’ve learned that I blog for you. You don’t have to follow me, but you do. And to show my appreciation, I should write and post things that engage my lovely readers.

Therefore, this sort of thing is to be a rare occurrence that may never, uh, occur again. Like an eclipse. Or a full moon. Or the moon landing.

So without further ado…

~Pink~

Agnes liked pink, she thought as she stroked the crocheted blanket spread across her knees. The color pink reminded Agnes of That Nice Girl who came to see her. She had pink hair, you see. Of course Agnes knew this was terribly wild, but secretly she thought it looked rather nice. Agnes reached across the table and and rested her hand lightly overtop Beatrice’s.

“That Nice Girl is going to visit me today,” she confided proudly. “She always visits on Wednesdays.”

Beatrice rolled her eyes. “She visits every day, Agnes. She’s your granddaughter.”

Agnes became troubled, and her hands fluttered in agitation. Nurse Linda approached with a smile. “Is everything okay, Agnes?”

“Is That Nice Girl going to visit me today?” she asked timidly.

“Of course she is! You know Am – I mean That Nice Girl – never forgets.”

Agnes nodded, reassured. “Well, That Woman – what is her name? – said that…”

“My name’s Beatrice!”

“Of course. Beatrice was saying…”

Nurse Linda waited patiently for Agnes to finish, but Agnes had quite forgotten what Beatrice had said. It wasn’t important anyway.

“When is That Nice Girl going to visit?” Agnes asked politely.

Nurse Linda checked her watch. “Should be any minute now. Why don’t I wheel you on down to the visiting area?”

“Thank you, I would like that.”

“Good morning, Grammy!” That Nice Girl bounced to her feet as Nurse Linda pushed Agnes’ wheelchair through the room.

That Nice Girl bent down to hug Agnes and Agnes patted her back gently. “Hello, dear.”

That Nice Girl smelled like lilacs. Or was it bubblegum? She was chewing a great wad of it with determination.

“I can take it from here, Linda. Thank you.”

“Have a nice visit, you two,” Linda smiled as she patted Agnes briefly on the shoulder and then left the room.

That Nice Girl pushed Agnes’ wheelchair to the window. “Here! You can get some sunshine!”

“The view is lovely,” Agnes said dreamily. The rosebushes were in full bloom and Agnes fancied she could almost smell the heavy perfume. Pink roses were her favorite.

Agnes turned to That Nice Girl. “How are you doing, dear? I love what you’ve done with your hair.”

That Nice Girl laughed and fingered her lopsided pink-streaked blond braids. “Marguerite taught me how to braid. I’m… not very good yet…” She examined her handiwork closer.

“Nonsense!” Agnes declared. “You look lovely. But who is Marguerite?”

“Oh. You know, just a friend from college.”

“I am so glad you were able to go to college, dear. I wanted to, but then I got pregnant with my daughter…”

“Yes, I know.” That Nice Girl nodded with understanding.

Agnes frowned. “Have I told you that before? I know I repeat myself sometimes…”

“You have,” That Nice Girl admitted, “but I don’t mind. I love hearing about… your daughter.”

“Well, her name was Elaine. And she was just the sweetest girl. But now she is all grown up!” Agnes beamed. “All grown up, with a little girl of her own. I used to go with them to the park each week…” Agnes closed her eyes, remembering, “and I bought Amber an ice cream cone. Strawberry, because pink was her favorite color…”

Agnes opened her eyes and saw that tears were streaming down Amber’s face.

“It still is, Grammy. It still is.”

Um. What did you think? If you would like, you could request what color you would like me to write about next… or even a name or an object you would like to appear? I can personalize these…

I know that makes it sound like I will be doing more and I said this was a one-time thing. But I might make an exception if I get requests… Maybe.

44 thoughts on “Unedited: Pink”

  1. AWWWWWWWWWWWWWWW!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! THERE AREN’T ENOUGH “AWWWES” IN THE WORLD TO DESCRIBE MY FEELINGS TOWARD THIS. It was so SWEET but SAD. BITTERSWEET. It was the most precious but heartbreaking thing how she called her granddaughter “That Nice Girl.” :’) This just…it gave me so many FEELS. This was beautiful and sad and precious and just lskjd;fljs;ljfsf. ALL THE THINGS. And I especially appreciated it because PINK IS MY FAVORITE COLOR. SO YES. LOOOOVE!!!!

    YOU SHOULD TOTALLY DO MORE OF THESE. I looooove reading your writing! It’s so seamless and feelsy and just I LOVE IT. I would say write one about pink, ’cause ya know, it’s my favorite color but you already did, so. 😛 But I’ll take anything with your writing!

    Like

  2. Kate……

    OH. MY. WORD.

    This was brilliant! And sort of heartbreaking????? Yet absolutely AMAZING, and I just… I kind of want to cry right now???????

    You’re going to continue this right??? This was so beautiful and unique, and I just…I have no words. I literally have no words for how much I love this. Just…

    Nothing.

    I’m trying really hard to wrap my feelings about this into cohesive thoughts right now. First of all, this was so sweet and filled with a beautiful love between a grandmother that just makes me want to cry and smile and just wrap Agnes and That Nice Girl up in a hug and give them cookies and milk and ice cream… And it’s just honestly one of my favorite short stories ever.

    And I mean that. From the very bottom of my heart. This is a favorite.

    Like

    1. Oops? I have a slight tendency to be tragic, as you know…

      But actually this was pretty happy for me??? Normally my stories are much darker (muahaha!!!).

      Continue it? Like make it a full length novel???? I hadn’t considered that…. I mean, what would the plot be????

      Agnes and Amber would love you!!! And want to wrap you in a blanket and give you cookies and milk and ice cream. 🙂

      Kenzie!!! YOU HAVE NO IDEA HOW MUCH THAT MEANS TO ME. By far one if the best writing-compliments I have ever received. Thank you!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Well, I think it just sort of hits me a little bit in the feels, cause I used to have grandparents who lived in an assisted living center (which was also a nursing home at one end), and so when I read this, I could totally visualize the assisted living/nursing home, and so that’s probably where the sadness for me comes from??? It really did have a beautifully sweet ending, so I can understand why it was happy!!!

        And yeah… I don’t think you’d be able to do much else with it, as it’s perfect as it is right now… I JUST NEED MORE OF YOUR WRITING OKAY??? 😂😂😂

        Aww!!! Yay!!!! 😄😄😄

        Awww!!! Well, I really do mean it, and you should know just how amazingly talented you are!!!

        Like

        1. Oh, Kenzie!! I am so sorry! Especially if this came across as mocking that at all or I got any of it wrong. I’ve never been inside an assisted-living home, you see. None of my grandparents were ever in one, though my Grandma did have dementia and that was kind of the springboard for Agnes. But honestly I know so little about these types of things, I was just making it up. :3

          You are so sweet, Kenzie. That means a lot to me. ❤

          Liked by 1 person

          1. Oh no! Not at all! That’s not what I meant at all, haha! I was just trying to explain why this adorable and sweet and utterly AMAZING story really struck a chord with me! And that is ALWAYS a good thing to have happen with stories!!! 😀 ❤

            Like

  3. Awww. This was soooo sad…and yet sooo sweet…and beautiful and well written and just an all around lovely little story. And basically, why even bother saying you’re not going to do any more posts like this since everyone’s going to contradict you anyway? *wink, wink*

    Do one on the color yellow. And make it hilariously happy. (That is, IF that’s possible for you, oh Queen of Tragedy. Haha.) No but in all seriousness. Write more and write them however you want…even if they are sad. Short stories like this make for awesome blog posts. 🙂

    Like

    1. Thank you so much, friend!

      I know, right? Who am I fooling?? NO ONE, CLEARLY…

      Yellow, huh? I knew somebody would request it! THIS SHALL BE QUITE THE TEST OF MY SKILL. Funny is not my strong point…

      AS A POINT OF TRIVIA: I thought this story was very happy!!! And had a happy ending!!! And basically this ABSOLUTELY THE LEAST SAD PIECE I HAVE EVER WRITTEN???

      Like

  4. Well, you don’t have to actually make it funny if you don’t want to. (Personally I think you could totally do it. Your blog posts are proof of that! But if it is too hard for you…well, that’s okay. Don’t put yourself out on my account. 😉 Heehee.)

    Well, yes. Now that I think about it, I suppose it is kind of happy. I mean the fact that Amber comes and visits her grandmother every day is SO wonderful. And how her grandma looks forward to her visits and is so happy to see her…and how they talk and…gahhh!! Such sweetness. But I still maintain that it’s sad, too, because Agnes can’t remember who her granddaughter is, and I think it’s just so hard when someone you love starts to lose their memory. 😦

    However, all that aside, this was a really good story, Kate. I mean that. And despite all my teasing about your sad stories, I have to admit I do actually enjoy my fair share of the tragic and bittersweet so…who am I to talk, right? 😉

    Keep writing your heart-wrenching stories, girl. Because YOU’RE GOOD AT IT! Like really. 🙂

    Like

    1. Right. You said for it to be “hilariously HAPPY”, but I enjoy a challenge so I am going to try and make it HILARIOUS and HILARIOUSLY HAPPY. We’ll see what I can do. *rubs hands together gleefully*

      You have a point. It is sad that Agnes can’t remember who Amber is most days. But I thought it had a happy ending (like the ones you are always encouraging me to write!) because, at least for a moment, Agnes HAS remembered.

      I am so glad you liked it! I loved writing it and I’m really looking forward to writing these other colors (I was working on Black a bit today and it is posing a bit of a challenge. I don’t want to be stereotypical and write about ghosts or gangs…)

      Aw, thank you so much!

      Like

    1. Thank you!!!

      EEEP I AM SO GLAD YOU ARE HERE!! *squeezes you very gently*

      Agh, lilac is such a gorgeous color!! (Did you notice that I used it in this one because I thought lilacs were pink?? Whoops!) And periwinkle!! YOU HAVE LOVELY TASTE, MY GOOD SIR!! I love how specific you were, too – that makes them so much easier to write!

      Like

Leave a Reply

