The Plan Moving Forward: Imma Be A Vlogger

I am so excited, guys.

I am going to be a vlogger! Someday. Hopefully a soon someday.

But perhaps you are wondering where this came from. I haven’t ever mentioned it before, after all.

Image result for jack sparrow gifs confused

You are quite right, Johnny. Quite right.

This came out of nowhere for me, too. So you aren’t the only one who is surprised.

Several random things collided at the exact same moment – and this idea was crystallized in my mind.

Obviously it was meant to be!Β My destiny, as it were.

First, there was this post by Naomi. Which you should read, because Naomi is hilarious and this post was scarily true of me, if not every blogger.

But reading it made me think for the first time about where exactly I am going with this blog. Blogging isn’t exactly a lifetime gig, after all. The blog wasn’t my idea and becoming a world-famous blogger isn’t part of My Plan. And while some of things that have been Not Part Of The Plan have been the best things to happen to me, that doesn’t mean I discard it and go through life letting things happen to me. I want to do life intentionally. Which means having a plan.

In case you haven’t noticed, I like plans.

But as she pointed out, one doesn’t set out to keep blogging forever. Or, I didn’t, anyway.

For example, I don’t see myself doing this once I’m out of college. Maybe not even during college. I anticipate being rather busy, you see.

Image result for jack sparrow gifs

I definitely don’t see myself doing this as a career or for the rest of my life.

For me, blogging is going to be one season of my life… and one, I must admit, that is rapidly coming to an end. The blogging chapter of my life is almost over.

I think I was always aware in the back of my mind that this was the way it was going to be. I’ve just been thinking about it the front of my mind recently.

Not to say that it hasn’t been good for me to build this platform – it has. But a platform is built to help you climb higher, is it not? Not so that you can admire the view from where you are.

Image result for jack sparrow gifs the plan

Look at me getting all metaphorical.

That post was only half of the impetus for my new and improved Plan, though. The other half was that I watched several vlogs. It wasn’t something I did on purpose. I didn’t think to myself, “I shall now proceed to watch videos of a random person’s face.” That strikes me as a wee bit strange.

But some of my writerly friends make vlogs on occasion and I like to watch them. I find it interesting to put a voice and a face with a blog. Because blogs don’t have heads, as you may have noticed.

I realized as I watched that that’s what I want to do.

Switching over to vlogging seems like a natural transition. And so, I have decided that this will be my next step, my next… chapter.

Step One: Amass An Army Of Followers

I have fifty followers. And I couldn’t be more proud.

I am grateful to each and every one of you.

But I can’t help but notice that only about ten of you are actively involved – reading and commenting.

Now, fifty is a big number and one I’m happy with. If all fifty of my followers read and commented on every post, I would dive immediately into the dangers waters of vlogging.

As it is, I eagerly await the day when I have fifty active followers. Or maybe one hundred followers total?

Either way, this means that my following needs to keep growing.

Step Two: My Adoring Fans Will Beg Me To Reveal My Lovely Face

Image result for jack sparrow gifs the plan

This is an important step in the process, obviously.

I will not proceed until this occurs, okay? I. Will. Not.

You must beg and offer me gifts of chocolate and your firstborn children. Actually, no. Just chocolate, please. I hate babies.They scare me.

Anyway. Until this momentous occasion takes place, I will shroud myself in a deep fog of secrecy and your curiosity and anticipation will build until you are ready to explode.

Hopefully this provides the incentive you need to help me get those followers!

Step Three: Become A World-Famous Vlogger

This may surprise you, given my introverted ways, but I am actually perfectly comfortable in front of a camera.

I don’t talk about it much because this is, in fact, a writing blog, but acting is my passion. Writing is more of a hobby in comparison.

Therefore, this will be the easiest step because I am extremely self-absorbed and love talking about myself and being dramatic and performing for people.

The only obstacle I foresee is that I don’t have the proper equipment – a nice camera, a pretty room with good lighting, or even basic knowledge of editing and then uploading my soon-to-be-world-renowned videos.

Just Β a slight problem.

Image result for jack sparrow gifs the plan

Step Four: Catch The Eye Of A Prestigious Filmmaker

I hear that prestigious filmmakers casually browse YouTube for videos of aspiring actors, so clearly this is a foolproof plan.

I would also like to point out that single and gorgeous aren’t requirements, but I wouldn’t complain if they came with the package. Just sayin.’

Step Five: Launch My Acting Career

Here’s the cool part.

Once I get world-famous… I will start posting on this blog again.

What? You thought that I was going to delete my darling blog? You’re cute.

Yes, this blog may lie dormant for a while, but I do plan on keeping it up and maybe even posting occasionally. We shall see, yes?

Before we all depart to cry stormily…

This is not goodbye – not yet. I have to have fifty committed fans before moving on from this blog, remember?

So I’m going to be around for a while yet.

Image result for jack sparrow gifs

 

45 thoughts on “The Plan Moving Forward: Imma Be A Vlogger

  1. shewillwriteandwrite says:

    First off, the Pirates of the Caribbean GIFs in the post are spot onπŸ‘πŸ»πŸ˜‚ Second off, you should definitely vlog! I’ve only recently found your blog, but I really love all the stuff I’ve read. I would definitely be interested in watching your vlogs too! *sends virtual high-five* YOU CAN DO ITβ€οΈπŸ˜‚

    Like

  2. Rubix Cube says:

    Jack Sparrow was the perfect character for this post. ;D Also, yes, you must vlog. I, as one of your adoring fans, beseech thee to show us thy marvelous acting skills. *hat throw*

    Like

  3. Christine says:

    At first I was going to scream and cry because I loooooooove your blog and I DON’T WANT IT TO GOOO! D’: BUT, at least you’re not giving it up FOREVER, and will still blog for a little bit. AND, there will be vlogs to watch! I LOVE VLOGS. It would be fantastic if you vlogged!!!

    So yes, this sounds like a fun plan! Even though I do so love your blog. But I guess a vlog will be like your blog but with YOU, as in your face and yourself and not just words, which is AWESOME. So I approve of this plan and am now very much looking forward to your vlog!

    (Also, the gif usage in this post was golden.)

    Like

  4. Kate Marie says:

    Thank you!!! I always strive for Gif Excellence! *nods*

    WELL LOOK AT YOU, YOU SMART LITTLE BEAN!!! YOU FOUND ME!! Also: welcome!! I hope you enjoy your stay here (I sound like a weird tour guide…)!

    And awwwww! I HAVE JUST MET YOU AND I LUUUUUVVV YOU!!! You are too nice, truly. *sends waffles and cookies and all good things your way*

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Kate Marie says:

    JACK SPARROW IS THE PERFECT CHARACTER FOR EVERY POST??? It’s actually a problem. I have to RESIST the urge to use Jack gifs EVERY. SINGLE. TIME.

    D’awwwww!!! *hugs fiercely* I love you so much, Ruby!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Kate Marie says:

    Thank you for the applause. It is much appreciated. *nods* It is not very daunting for me, but I certainly understand how some people would find it to be so. πŸ™‚ Thank you!!

    Like

  7. Kate Marie says:

    AWWWWWW!!! CHRISTIIIINNNNEE!!! You are so nice and sweet and just my favorite bean in the whole world, okay??? Okay.

    I will absolutely be here for at least another year and a half, no matter what happens. I promise. *bows elegantly*

    Exactly!!! You will get to see my face and hear my voice and not be bored with good grammar and punctuation!!!

    Thanks! πŸ˜‰ Jack is da best. πŸ˜€

    Like

  8. Madeline J. Rose says:

    YOU SHOULD TOTALLY VLOG!!

    *ahem*
    I mean, yes, vlogging would be nice, and I think you would be very good at it and I would watch your videos and all that good stuff. πŸ™‚

    Like

  9. Miss March says:

    I BEGS YOU TO REVEAL YOUR LOVELY FACE TO THE WORLD! Seriously. I want to know what you look like!! *tosses you a bag full of chocolate* *tosses you a second bag full of chocolate* *stops abruptly and stares in disbelief at what you said about babies* WHAAAAT? You HATE babies?! Really, my dear. I think you need to work on stating your opinion a bit more forcefully. Hahaha. Honestly, though. I think we’ve talked about this before but I just have to ask again…HOW CAN YOU NOT LOVE BABIES??! And WHAT, pray, is scary about a baby??

    Sorry. Calming down now.

    To get to the point, I think your idea of vlogging sounds like an awesome idea. What kinds of things would you talk about in your videos? (Unless that’s top secret information which cannot be revealed until you actually get started…in which case, forget I asked.)

    Like I said, vlogging sounds like a marvelous idea. However, I do have one quibble with this new scheme of yours. (Sorry. I feel like all I’ve been doing is arguing with you lately?? And that is a rather uncomfortable feeling because I hate arguing with people, but still, I must say it.) YOU WOULD STOP BLOGGING??!! KATE! That is NOT funny! In fact, that’s one of my greatest annoyances with the blogging world. It changes way too fast. And poor little lovable blogs are left to wither away with neglect. It’s all just too sad. 😦 And I don’t like it. Humph.

    Like

  10. smudgedthoughts says:

    Ooh!!!!!!! I heartily offer gifts of chocolate and cookies and cakes in a request for you to start vlogging!!! Seriously, that would be AMAZING!!! EEK!!! I NEED your vlogs, Kate. I NEED them.

    I was actually considering vlogging for about a day or so a few weeks back, but honestly…I’m sort of a reclusive bean when it comes to VIDEO cameras. Snap snap cameras I’m fine with. In fact, I’m an infamous photo-bomber at Birthday celebrations and whatnot. But VIDEOS…

    Yeah… Not really my thing…

    But since acting is your passion, and you are SUCH a hilarious person to begin with, I honestly will not be able to survive until I can watch these vlogs!!! Ugh!!! I hope fifty people come soon…

    And oh my word, I know right??? The whole follower thing is weird! I’ve got like 80 followers right now, but I don’t know where like 80% of them actually are????? Did they die by my witty sarcasm??? Have they been murdered by a cheese grater????

    I DO NOT KNOW.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Kate Marie says:

    Well, thank you! That is very sweet. I think of vlogging as essentially the same as blogging, though??? So I won’t really be “leaving.” You’ll just HEAR my voice instead of read it. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Kate Marie says:

    Awwwwww! Well, my face is nothing much, so don’t get your hopes up, there, friend. πŸ˜‰

    *gobbles chocolate*

    Sorry!!! I’m just so timid about stating my opinions! πŸ˜‰

    They really do scare me! They’re so tiny and red and kind of angry looking and they cry… I’m always afraid they don’t like me and I feel that the only people they like at that age is their mother and she is the only one who knows how to hold it properly. Also their heads are so small and don’t seem to have any bones in them???? It’s disturbing.

    I was planning on vlogging about my life???? I know that sounds suuuuuuupper boring but I’m pretty dramatic so that might make up for it??

    But… but… I would still be HERE. I would post my videos on this blog and read you guys’ posts and you would just hear/see me instead of reading, see???

    Like

  13. Rubix Cube says:

    I consider being your favorite person the greatest honor I have. *Wipes tear* *puts badge on identifying me as Kate’s Favorite Person* *Shows this off to Jack Sparrow*

    And yes! He’s definitely in my top ten favorite people.

    Like

  14. Kate Marie says:

    I accept these gifts. *bows*

    Aw, but Kenzie you would be so good at it!!!! You should join me! We can both become world famous vloggers!!!

    Ha! I love the mental picture of you being an “infamous photo bomber”!

    Awwwwwwwww!!! You think I’m hilarious?? *squeezes you*

    Ah! I can commiserate. WHY DID THEY EVEN BOTHER TO FOLLOW…??? Maybe they I’d follow back! Stupid…

    Liked by 1 person

  15. smudgedthoughts says:

    I thank thee for accepting my offerings.

    Aw, thanks! You think so??? I sort of seize up in videos though. And my voice does something weird… But I think I could totally make it work if I tried, haha! Oh yesss!!! Kate and Kenzie, the WORLD FAMOUS VLOGGERS WHO ARE TOTALLY FAMOUS AND AMAZING AND OCCASIONALLY WRITE STUFF. *wipes tear from eye* It’s beautiful…

    Oh yes. I think I made a friend slightly angry once, bahahaha! OH WELL!!!

    And yes!! You are one of the most hilarious people I know!! I seriously cannot wait for your vlogs… I’m gonna subscribe and watch them the second they air and everything!!!

    Oh my word, I know!!! I thought that, too, but then it’s like… “Do I follow them back??? I DON’T KNOW WHAT YOU WANT, PEOPLE!!!”

    Like

  16. Kellyn Roth says:

    Hahaha, well, I guess that’s true. I can never organize my thoughts in videos … but you’ll probably be able to. I’m just awkward at … talking. πŸ˜„

    Like

  17. Kate Marie says:

    Dude. If I can do it, you can do it!!!

    Oops! πŸ˜€ I rarely photobomb but you make it sound enormously fun!!!

    *clutches heart* YOU ARE TOO KIND, DEAR.

    Wow I already have one subscriber!!! πŸ˜‰

    Right??? Most of followers are middle aged men who have weird health food and fitness and “think happy thoughts to be a happy person!” vloggers. It’s really weird and if they think I’m gonna follow them back, well, THEY WAS WRONG, SON. Because I’m not interested in that sort of thing (AT ALL!!!) and because I never claimed to be one of those desperate “Follow For Follow!!!” bloggers!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  18. smudgedthoughts says:

    I’m not so sure on that, LOL! But! I do think it sounds like fun, so I might still consider it in the future! I’d love to keep Smudged Thoughts running alongside it, though, so it’s gonna require some preparation…

    OH MY WORD, I KNOW!! It is WEIRD. And slightly creepy???? And I know, right? I don’t do the follow for follow thingy. It’s relatively lame, because I want people to follow my blog because they want to READ it. I mean, I’m not just posting random insanity for nothing, here!!!

    Like

  19. Miss March says:

    Ha. I’ve noticed. In fact, I never in my life knew such a timid person as you are! πŸ˜‰

    Okay, my dear girl, I have to admit your description is rather accurate. Babies certainly are red, and they do cry, and their heads seem very fragile (in fact all of them does), and they do often look like they are frowning (but ohmygoodness it’s the cutest frown EVER!), and yes, mother is usually their favorite person. And I do understand the uncomfortableness of feeling like a baby doesn’t like you. (I’m definitely not as comfortable with babies outside my own family.) But still. Still, still, still. BABIES ARE ADORABLE! I mean, they just ARE! The end.

    No indeed. That doesn’t sound super boring at all! I’d love to watch you talk about your life. And seriously, I’m getting really excited about this vlogging idea. πŸ™‚

    Especially since…YOU WOULD STILL BE HERE! YES!!! I didn’t realize you’d be posting the videos on your blog. I thought they would just be on youtube or something. Really, though. This is awesome! I’m very much looking forward to this new venture!! πŸ˜€

    Like

  20. Kate Marie says:

    You should definitely give it a shot sometimes, even if you only do one or two! I’m sure we’d all love to hear your voice and see your face! πŸ™‚ You’re right, it would take quite a lot of work to blog and vlog at the same time (not literally of course, I mean to have both up and running at the same time)! I doubt I would be able to and that’s why the vlogs would kind of be taking the place of blog posts.

    Exactly! People should follow because they like the content and are prepared to involved meaningfully. If I find that content ceases to interest me to the point where I never comment on someone’s blog, I do the person a favor and stop following them!

    Liked by 1 person

  21. Kate Marie says:

    I know. My timidity is a great handicap. I can hardly ask for someone to pass the salt without breaking down entirely. It is most grievous.

    See, see??? Babies ARE scary!!!

    Well, I hope to, if WordPress will cooperate. But I may have to switch BACK over to Blogger for it to work? WordPress has weird rules about only Premium users being able to post video… *sigh* I suppose they will be on YouTube as well, but I would like to post them to my blog as well, so that all of you do not forget about me. πŸ˜‰

    Like

  22. smudgedthoughts says:

    Ooh! Yes! Like a trial vlog! And I believe it would be fun to act weird in front of a camera, especially since I can pull some VERY interesting faces, MWAHAHAHA!!!

    Ooh! Now I must try vlogging and blogging at the same time! I shall not rest until I have completed this mission! And I can totally understand why the vlogs would take the place of the posts! It’s really, as you said, a pretty natural transition.

    I haven’t had to unfollow too many people yet, but then I don’t follow too many people to begin with, as I take way too much thought and effort into actually following them in the first place, haha! I like to read a few of their posts and sort of connect with them as a person before I follow, but there have been a few instances, when I’ve had to unfollow. I felt kinda bad, but…yeah.

    Like

  23. Cait @ Paper Fury says:

    Aww, I feel sad you won’t be blogging anymore because I barely get a chance to watch vlogs. 😭 BUT AT THE SAME TIME I’M HAPPY FOR YOU because it’s great to take things in a different direction live your dreeeeeams. I can’t wait to see how it all turns out! πŸŽ‰πŸŽ‰

    Like

  24. Miss March says:

    Oh, I believe it. (NOT.) πŸ˜‰

    What? No. I most certainly do not see. Seriously, Kate, believe me. BABIES ARE NOT SCARY! Period. End of story. (I have a feeling this is a pointless argument which will take us nowhere so now that I’ve had my final say, I’m calling a truce. Haha. Have a cookie. ;))

    Oh, I hope you can get it figured out because I’d love to see your videos here on your blog. That would be awesome!!

    Like

  25. Kate Marie says:

    Ha! That would be hilarious!!!

    Oh… I follow pretty much every blog I stumble across as long as the writing is good and there are no content issues. Unfortunately, that means a lot of UNfollowing later when I realize that I have nothing in common with the blogger or they never post or there ARE content problems after all or they consistently post about stuff I’m not interested in or they never respond to my comments…

    Liked by 1 person

  26. Kate Marie says:

    πŸ˜‰

    *gobbles cookie* TRUCE DECLARED. πŸ™‚

    Me, too!! I don’t want to lose all my lovely followers! If all else fails, I think Blogger allows embedded video for free, so I could switch back…

    Like

  27. smudgedthoughts says:

    Oh yeah. It’s kinda difficult for me to find blogs that make me laugh or have really awesome content and things I can relate to and enjoy reading, but when I DO find them, I fiercely punch the follow button! πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

    Like

Leave a Reply

