Breaking My Silence On Homosexuality In Fiction

This is not going to be a terribly lighthearted post, I’m afraid. Abandon hope, all ye who enter here…

If you’re anything like me, you’ve been hearing a lot about this thing called “diversity in fiction.” To be perfectly honest, I’m getting just a bit sick of the term…

Unfortunately, I’ve found that most of the time, when someone says “diversity,” they are not talking about representing different races, religions, or disabilities. They are talking about homosexuality.

Essentially, “diverse” means “homosexual.”

I might as well get it out where we can all see it – I think homosexuality is wrong.

Notice my wording, please. I did not say “I’m straight.” I was going to and, as of this moment, it would have been true. But all this nonsense of “I’m straight” and “I’m gay” just furthers the notion that some people just are. That homosexuality is something you are born with, something you can’t change.

Listen up, people. That ain’t true.

I firmly believe that homosexuality is a learned behavior. Which means we all have the potential to become homosexual. Let that sink in for a minute.

One more thing. I’m going to refer to the whole group as homosexual. Because I don’t particularly feel like banging out half the alphabet in all caps just to make people happy. They are all homosexual, no matter what special name they’ve invented for their brand of it, right?

Now. Here’s the deal. I think it’s wrong. We’ve established this. But I don’t judge. I’m no better than they are. They’re all wrong, I’m all wrong. We’ve all got problems. We’re broken. We need fixing.

So I don’t hate you, okay?

The question I’m struggling to answer is, “Do I want to read books, watch movies, and watch shows with homosexual characters?”

I’ve thought long and hard. And I’m still not sure exactly where I stand. I do know that when you’re confused about where you stand on something, you go back to what you know is true and proceed carefully from there. Holding tight with both fists to the truth. Don’t let go.

So. I believe homosexuality is wrong. I believe homosexuals are human beings, worthy of respect. I believe it is a storyteller’s job to represent all people and to do it well. I know homosexuality in fiction makes me uncomfortable.

That is the truth.

Perhaps you don’t see where I’m going with this. My apologies for rambling. My point is that I read books where wrong behavior is portrayed all the time. And it doesn’t bother me.

I’ve read books about murderers and despots and serial killers and psychopaths of every variety. Occasionally, they are not even the “bad guy.”

And yet, I must guiltily admit that I have never read a book about a homosexual. Furthermore, I have only read a scanty few where homosexuals even made an appearance – and only then so that they could repent and turn into nice little heterosexuals.

I recognize that this is wrong.

I need to do something about it.

But what? Homosexuality makes me uncomfortable. Perhaps because I am more aware than most just how easily that could be me.

Should I read or watch something that I find revolting?

I did not watch or read Fifty Shades Of Gray. I refuse to. The behaviors betrayed are wrong. And no one has accused me of being prejudiced against abusive men and abused women because of that decision.

I don’t want to read or watch something that paints homosexuality as right or okay.

The problem? There are no books with homosexual main characters where their sexuality is conveyed as wrong. It simply is not done. Or if it is, I don’t know about it.

As a writer myself, things become still more complicated. More and more, I am faced with the undeniable fact that it is up to me… Up to me to do what I don’t see anyone else doing.

I should be writing homosexual characters. I should be doing it well. And I should be showing that it’s wrong.

Maybe I will be pleasantly surprised by your reaction, but I’m envisioning a recoil of horror. I don’t have a large enough following to make any homosexuals angry, but I’m not entirely sure where all of you stand on this issue? If I had to guess, I’d say most of you agree that homosexuality is wrong. But how will you feel about my stance about writing it into our stories? I simply don’t know.

Talk to me, please.

51 thoughts on “Breaking My Silence On Homosexuality In Fiction”

  1. Wow. I appreciate this post so much. πŸ™‚ so. Much. I’m not sure where I stand on writing it into my own stories but I definitely think we need books showing it is wrong in a good way.

    Again, thank you so much.

    Like

  2. Well, first off, this is a great question to think about, and I admire your honesty in this.

    I definitely agree that homosexuality is wrong. No doubt about it. However, I’ve never really thought about it in terms of writing… I mean believe that writing is supposed to reflect our beliefs and convictions that we wish to share. However, I have a question. If in fact you did decide to write a book portraying it as wrong, who would it be aimed for? What audience do you wish to read it? Do hope to speak to those with the same beliefs as you do on the issue? Or do you wish to speak to those who support or participate in homosexuality? Most people do have a stand on this issue and are separated into on of these two categories. So, which do you hope to speak to? The thing is, if your book is portraying it as wrong (as it should if it is to be addressed at all), I feel like you will only be reaching an audience who already believes as you do, in which I would wonder what the point would be. Then again, if we have a conviction shouldn’t we stand up and share what we believe?

    In all honesty, I don’t really think there is a simple answer here. I think this is something that should be carefully felt out and prayed about. πŸ™‚

    (P.S. Sorry about how long this comment is)

    Like

    1. Thanks, Anna! Admittedly, I was intimidated to tackle this difficult subject, but it has become something I feel very strongly about.

      Wow, what a good point! I haven’t figured it all out yet, but I guess the idea would be to have homosexual characters in EVERY story, just as I would heterosexual characters. I’m not really thinking about it in terms of reaching anyone, just fairly representing different groups of people. Does that make any sense?

      Anna! You know I adore long comments (especially yours!)!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Ahhh, I see. Well, in that case, I suppose that it would be a subtle way to go about it. I guess this is something that we should all just go with what we individually believe is right. Again, this is a great thing to think and talk about. Thank you! πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

        1. Right. Sorry if I dodged your actual question, I didn’t mean to…

          Yes! I would love to be subtle… I never want to be preachy or in-your-face. Basically, I want people who think homosexuality is wrong to reevaluate how they treat homosexuals and, hopefully, to convey that they are just like the rest of us. Homosexuals, I hope, would notice that I included them and represented them accurately and kindly, but that I didn’t shy away from the destructive consequences of a homosexual lifestyle.

          Thank you for being so kind, Anna!

          Liked by 1 person

  3. Hey Kate!

    Hmm, I don’t know. I know and believe that homosexuality is wrong. That’s what the Bible says. That’s what God says. It’s a sin.

    But as for writing about it, gosh, that’s tough. My best advice would be to pray with faith. Don’t just pray. Have FAITH that the LORD will give you an answer. ❀

    Let me know what you decide! πŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

            1. Because I think I need to represent a broad range of people. For example, my main character is Eskimo Indian, my side character is Native American and I have entire groups of characters who are African and Russian. So I’m doing pretty good in the racial diversity department. Not so much in other ways. So I’m going to try and write in more disabilities and homosexuals.

              Liked by 2 people

                  1. Oh, I see.

                    This is a different topic, but I can’t seem to recall. Are you a Christian? I think you are, but I keep forgetting this stuf lol

                    Like

                    1. Oh. What exactly made you disillusioned with Christ and the Christian beliefs? If you are alright with saying.

                      Like

  4. This is a very big issue nowadays. I truly wish diversity did simply mean trying to cut back on racism or prejudice against people with disabilities or disorders that some people don’t understand. There are lots of authors out there trying to address those very points. But I’ve definitely noticed there is so often an agenda when it comes to homosexual characters, and on portraying same-gender relationships in a particular way.

    As a writer myself, with my own beliefs (including that we’re supposed to treat everyone, whether we like their politics/lifestyles/religious views or not, with love), I’ve decided not to even address it in my own work. I don’t know how to tackle what’s a very controversial subject in complete mortal love *and* God’s truth in the same books, so I’m just not going to.

    Your idea of wanting to find a way to discuss it while sticking to your beliefs but also not treating a whole group unkindly is great. I think praying about it is a given. Maybe there’s a reason this idea came to you. That’s my suggestion, definitely pray and keep an open heart.

    Like

    1. That is so true. It’s sad, really, how the word “diverse” is being misused…

      I respect that. If you don’t feel you can do it well, leaving it alone is probably best.

      Than you so much! It encourages me that people have been so kind about my decision and very open to it. This topic has become very important to me.

      Like

      1. It’s important to me, too. I have a very strong passion about promoting diversity, because my son and I are autistic, and we know just how damaging it is when people think anything different than what they’re used to is “wrong.” We’re very much human beings, and my guess is God either is not surprised or even wanted us to be on the spectrum, so how can we be “wrong”?

        You’re totally right, though – there is plenty of biological research/evidence that homosexuality is a lifestyle choice. And apparently whether it’s acceptable or not depends on the culture you’re in. (Think of ancient Greece, for example.)

        And I’ve had gay friends and associates, and I’ve always treated them with love and respect. I’m teaching my kids to do the same. But when it comes to my writing, I’m honestly not sure. So, I’ll just leave it alone for now.

        I’m really not surprised you’ve had a lot of like-minded responses. This is a sensitive subject, but I think Christians and non-Christians alike need to find a loving way to address it.

        Like

        1. Wow, I can see why this is near and dear to your heart, then! I have siblings, a nephew and cousins with autism-type disabilities and I don’t know what I would do without these precious people in my life, lending me their unique perspective and outlook on life.

          I don’t know that homosexuality is ever “acceptable,” but history certainly indicates that it has been a cultural norm in the past.

          Unfortunately, I live in a community with very few homosexuals, so I rarely interact with them. But I certainly think you are right to treat them as friends and equals and to teach your kids to, as well.

          Absolutely!

          Liked by 1 person

  5. Well, first of all, I have to tell you that your post is perfectly honest and to the point and I admire that. Secondly, I agree with you that homosexuality is wrong. Thirdly, I agree with you that I have no idea whether or not to put it in books or not. Especially now, it is portrayed as something that is always good, something that should be upheld. I’m not condemning anyone who is homosexual or who supports the agenda. I simply do not agree with their views.
    So Idk. I don’t know whether or not it would be a good idea to portray homosexuality in a book. I hope that if you did, you would do it in a manner that brings glory to God and shows transformation and what you believe to be wrong with homosexuality. I also hope you would write and portray homosexuals in a respectful light with respect to their agenda. Everyone has feelings, everyone is human, everyone deserves to be treated with kindness and respect.
    This topic is very controversial and creates a lot of dissension between people in and out of the church. I just want you to know that you are being very courageous with branching out like this, and I also want to encourage you to look deeply into this and not take it lightly.
    Wow, this comment was kinda long… But yeah. Good luck with your writing!! And thanks again for sharing πŸ™‚

    Like

  6. I’ve thought about writing a story dealing with this subject, too. It would be a tough one to tackle, though. A subject which would certainly have to be handled with kid gloves as there are so many strong opinions on the subject.

    I think if you feel as strongly about it as you do you should definitely not throw the idea out. Like others have said, pray about it. Seek God about it. Because I think if you want to write a story that deals with this subject in the most loving and truthful way possible, you’re definitely going to need direction from Him who knows the depths of human nature inside out.

    Kudos to you for stepping out and writing this post. It’s a touchy subject, but you addressed it very well, I thought. Good luck with your writing, Kate!! πŸ™‚

    Like

    1. Delicacy would obviously be requisite… I think maybe people got the wrong impression, but I’m actually thinking of having homosexual characters, not writing a book specifically about homosexuality. Just to clarify. πŸ™‚

      Thanks, dear!

      Like

  7. Ugh, I totally agree about so much in this post! And so much how homosexuality is a learned behavior. It is a scary thought that anyone can become homosexual, but it’s a thought that we definitely need to consider!

    I definitely hate how a “diverse” book automatically means homosexual. I want to read about books with CP main characters; a POV with OCD; a book that has an Indian character from the motherland; etc. I’ve often back and forth with reading books with a huge amount of gay characters. It was rather disappointed with how everything was portrayed in The Trials of Apollo. I was super excited for the book – but was disappointed with the content.

    And now to your question – I say go for it in writing! I’ve often wanted to include some mention of gay parents, but reprimand them in a way. So I say that if you have the heart to do it, then do it. It needs to be told from your and my viewpoint.

    The very best of luck – and best wishes for writing!

    Like

    1. Thank you! Sounds like we are definitely on the same page about this, then, Alyssa!

      It is scary to think anybody could be homosexual, but I think it’s something we need to grapple with… and guard our hearts, minds, and eyes against, as well.

      Wow! Yes! That would be so nice to see!

      Hmm. I havent read that book, but I know what you mean.

      Yes! It does! Thank you so much, Alyssa!

      Liked by 1 person

  8. Now, lets bring some diversity to the opinions in this thread, shall we. πŸ™‚

    First of all, I’m a bit surprised at your conclusion that diversity in fiction means having gay characters. The only possible explanation I can think of is that maybe it’s the publishers’ definition of diversity, because certainly it’s not the community’s definition. Inside the writing community, especially among aspiring writers, diversity is usually defined much more widely, including race, ethnicity, sexual preferences, disability etc. Sometimes people even try so hard to make their book as diverse as possible, that it all turns into a farce. πŸ™‚

    Which leads us to my most important point. A storyteller is there to tell a story. That’s what writers do. They tell stories. That’s the main purpose. So when people try too hard to be as PC as humanly possible and to include as many diverse characters into the story as possible, they easily lose sight of what they were trying to do in the first place. Which is, to tell a story.

    Attempt at diversity should not replace the plot itself. When you ask somebody what their story is about, and they reply with something like: “It’s about a black Latina lesbian trans woman named Kat, a black American bisexual cis woman named Marie, a black American heteroromantic asexual cis woman named Annabel, and a Vietnamese intersex cis bisexual woman named Emma”, then there is a problem. The characters should be people, first and foremost. If they are there only to fill the “quota”, then there is a problem. And as a reader I’m unlikely to pick such book up. Not because I have something against black Latina lesbians, but because the writer obviously has wrong motivation for writing this book.

    The characters should always serve some purpose in the plot. They should move it forward. Hence, you should never include anything just because you think that you should, or because somebody told you that you should. This kind of motivation is wrong and harmful. It’s your story to tell. You owe it to nobody.

    Like I’ve already said once, nobody gets to tell a writer what they should write. Nobody. Never. Write what you want to write, not what you think you should write. Don’t go out of your way trying to please everyone. It’s not possible anyway. And if someone wants to have something written, they can always write it themselves. NaNoWriMo is open to everybody. πŸ™‚

    As for homosexuality, there are tons of scientific data, including homosexuality in wild nature. Certainly animals and birds cannot choose a lifestyle. πŸ™‚ It just takes time for people to accept it.

    When I was a kid, it was widely believe that left-handedness was a choice. Kids were forcibly made to use their right hand, including having their left hand tied to their body so that they could not use it at all. Fortunately, nobody in their right mind is doing things like this today. People have accepted, that being left-handed is an in-born trait.

    Of course, there can be situations where people can choose homosexuality. Or rather, are forced to by the circumstances. A jail, an army and other such environments, where people of the same sex have to be together 24/7 without access to the opposite sex. But then, when people leave such environments, they tend to drop back to what they really want. A person who was born heterosexual will stay heterosexual. And a person who was born a homosexual will stay a homosexual. That’s all there is to it, really. πŸ™‚

    Like

    1. YES!!! Also I really appreciate your willingness to comment on my post so thoroughly and explain your point of view. And while I heartily disagree, I do respect your opinion.

      I hate making generalizations and I realize that some people mean “disabilities, race, and religion” when they say “diverse.” I was simply stating the fact that in MY EXPERIENCE, it means “featuring homosexual characters.” And I think that’s sad, because I would like to see more diversity of all kinds.

      Wow! I agree with this so much! An attempt to be “diverse” should NEVER replace the plot! Well said. Obviously I can’t say with complete objectivity, but I certainly hope that none of my stories are this way. I would say that my main project, The Songless is VERY diverse, but it was almost entirely accidental, not something I really thought about at all. My characters were African and Native American and Eskimo Indian and Russian… but I didn’t do it “on purpose.” It just happened. My main character is mentally disabled. Not because I’m trying to educate people on mental illness, but because she went through tons of trauma, and her reaction seemed logical to me.

      Agreed. I am far less likely to read a book with stuff like that plastered all over it, as well. People with such blatant “agendas” turn me off.

      (Um. Not that it really matters, but can one be bisexual and cis? Asexual and cis? Intersex, bisexual, and cis? Forgive my ignorance…)

      I like to think that I’m not writing to please anyone… but I do think that I shouldn’t neglect homosexuals because I think their lifestyle is wrong.

      Obviously I disagree with you here. I am not aware of anything like homosexuality among wild animals (or domesticated animals, for that matter…). And I do believe that homosexuality is a learned behavior. I also think that science backs me up in this belief.

      Some things, of course, are inborn. Like being left-handed. And I think it’s sad that we used to be ignorant enough to force kids to do something that was unnatural for them. However, other things are learned or developed. Our taste in food, for example. I used to hate potatoes, now I love them. Same goes for many other foods. We can “learn” to like foods. It all depends on what you are exposed to and what you eat a lot of.

      Anyway. Thank you so much for sharing your opinion honestly and kindly. I appreciate it so much!

      Like

  9. Quote:
    I like to think that I’m not writing to please anyone… but I do think that I shouldn’t neglect homosexuals because I think their lifestyle is wrong.

    It is very important to always remember that characters are ultimate tools to tell the story. So, the only thing you should do is honestly select the traits for your characters that are required for the story and fit naturally. Just like you said the diversity happens naturally in your stories.

    Also, sexual orientation does not define people. If you’re writing about an artist, for example, or a sailor, or whoever else, most times you probably won’t even need to state their sexual preference (unless you’re writing a romance or have a romantic subplot, of course). Before invoking a character trait just ask yourself: “Will it help the reader to understand the character and their motivations better? Does it matter for the story? Am I doing it because this is natural for this story, or am I doing it so nobody says I’m neglecting this or that minority?”

    For example, I don’t have black people in my stories. I’ve been even attacked by SJWs once for foolishly admitting that I don’t have them because I don’t need them. πŸ™‚ In fact, the setting in which I’m writing doesn’t have any black people, but has other ethnicities. Hence, I write what is natural for this particular setting, not what people think I should write. It should not feel forced and it should not be out of place. Like I said, plot always comes first.

    Basically, you’re asking yourself wrong questions. Gay characters are not a medicine you absolutely need to take, however bitter it may be. You don’t *need* to write them for the sake of writing them, even though you don’t want to. You need to write them when the story requires it, when it’s natural to write a character this way. When the character came to you and said: “Hey Kate! By the way, I’m gay.” πŸ™‚ Otherwise you absolutely don’t have to.

    The only problem I can see here is that you may end up consciously or unconsciously using homosexuality as a bad trait instead of neutral. Or start preaching. Or turn the cahracter into a cardboar placeholder instead of a person. But then, that’s all up to you and what kind of writer you are. πŸ™‚

    Quote:
    (Um. Not that it really matters, but can one be bisexual and cis? Asexual and cis? Intersex, bisexual, and cis? Forgive my ignorance…)

    It’s an actual description from the NaNo forum, from a thread where people discussed diversity in books. πŸ™‚

    Cis means that the person’s gender complies with their biological sex. I.e. a person is born a female and feels herself a woman. The opposite is trans. A person is born a female, but feels themselves being a man. This is a rare condition, and people like this suffer much. I cannot even imagine how I would have felt, if I had a mind of a woman, but a look in the mirror would show me a man’s body.

    And bisexual, homosexual, asexual etc. is just a sexual attraction and doesn’t have anything to do with gender. Bi means they would consider either gender, homo means same sex, hetero means opposite sex, and asexual means people don’t want to have sex at all.

    And sorry, but science does not back you up on your views on homosexuality. πŸ™‚ If you’re really interested, you could google. Last I heard they found some gene which they suspect could be responsible (but I haven’t been keeping up to date with this theory, I have to admit).

    But then again, you can have your opinion on homosexuality as long as you don’t start badmouthing people or hurt them in any way or deny them basic human rights etc. all because of what consenting adults do with each other. My opinion is that it’s nobody’s business anyway. πŸ™‚ People smoking in public and consuming alcohol cause much more harm, than, say, two men holding hands.

    Like

    1. You are so right and I couldn’t agree more. Thank you so much for pointing out where my mentality isn’t quite right… I don’t want to preach or villify homosexuals, so I definitely needed this reevaluation! πŸ™‚

      Hmm. Gotcha. I’m familiar with the terms, but obviously, I’m NOT homosexual, so I don’t know all the details. πŸ™‚

      I Googled it, per your suggestion (I hate being that person who stubbornly clings to their opinion but can’t defend it). I found some interesting things. Of course there were a few articles agreeing with you, but actually far more agreeing with me. You might be interested in these… http://americanvision.org/8136/new-twin-study-people-not-born-gay/
      http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2012/10/23/homosexuality–choice-born-science_n_2003361.html
      http://dailycaller.com/2014/03/19/nobody-is-born-that-way-gay-historians-say/
      http://www.pureintimacy.org/a/are-people-really-born-gay/
      I particularly like the Huffington Post article.

      As long as children are not being harmed, I say homosexuals are welcome to their lifestyle. πŸ™‚

      Like

  10. Oh wow. Posts like this can be SO controversial, but I honestly have to say that I do agree with you that homosexuality is wrong; however, I, too, would never EVER hate on those people because of it. They’re people. I’m a person. We all have our problems and struggles and whatnot.

    But as for actually writing it into a story? I’m not sure if I would, simply because I get nervous writing romance of any kind. If two of my characters start to fall in love, I debate with my muse about killing one off. I’m not good at writing things that make me nervous, so I feel like I wouldn’t be able to portray what I’m trying to say well on the topic of homosexuality. (And yes, I know that part of being a writer is going beyond what you’re comfortable with and ripping the world open for all to see, but still. I’m working on it, haha!)

    So, I guess, looking at it like that–as a way of throwing open the doors of controversy and debate and showing the colors of a broken and bruised world–maybe I would write about homosexuality. I don’t know…

    Like

    1. Absolutely! People are people. Besides, we try to make it like some wrong behaviors are “more wrong” than others and that’s silly. We all have our struggles.

      What a good point, Kenzie! I hate (HATE!) writing romance, too, so I doubt I would depict in, ahem, THAT light… Plus, as I said, I find homosexual love rather vomit-inducing, so. Yeah. Dunno what to do about that…

      Liked by 1 person

  11. While I disagree with you on homosexuality being wrong and a choice (I’m not offended, don’t worry!) I do know people who would agree with you.

    As long as you are thoughtful about how you write gay characters, and they’re in the story for more reasons that just being homosexual, I think incorporating them into your writing would be a great idea. (I probably should, too, though it would be easier to do in a contemporary than a fantasy, and I’m writing fantasy right now… hmm.) However, if you do so, I’d encourage you to do lots of research, from sources you agree with and sources you disagree with, so that you can be as realistic as possible in writing about gay characters. I’m deaf, and while I know that’s not the same thing, it would bother me if someone wrote an inaccurate deaf character, however good their intentions.

    Last but not least, when I was scrolling through the comments, I saw you mention something about the “destructive consequences of a homosexual lifestyle.” Just curious, what do you mean by that? (I’m not trying to debate, just wondering.) One of my good friends has two moms, and she is a lovely person, as is the rest of her family. With her family and with other people under the LGBTQ umbrella that I know, I am unaware of destructive consequences in their lifestyles?

    Like

    1. I’m so glad you aren’t offended, Kit, because I would be so sad to lose your friendship! πŸ™‚

      I’m writing fantasy as well, but it’s urban so that makes things easier??? It doesn’t seem like it would fit very well with traditional medieval fantasy.

      I have already begun doing some research (largely because of writing this post, so even if no one else liked it, it was good for me!) from BOTH perspectives, like you said. That is SO important.

      I don’t mind your question at all, Kit! I realize that I’m making a bit of a generalization here, but in my (somewhat small, albeit) experience, homosexuals do not limit themselves to one partner. Promiscuity and homosexuality seem to go hand in hand. This puts them at a FAR higher risk of contracting a sexually transmitted disease. I also believe children need a mother AND a father, so the homosexual lifestyle is destructive to children as well.

      Thank you, Kit, for your kind and open comment. It means a lot to me.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Yeah, I feel like medieval fantasy would make it more complicated to include…

        Ah, okay. I’ve experienced the opposite (although it’s a rather small amount of experience, too) because despite gay marriage being technically illegal (until relatively recently, that is) my friend’s parents have stayed together and raised a family as if they were married. (Same with my old teacher and her partner.)

        I think that loving, healthy, and supportive homes are important for children, but I also think that one doesn’t need a mother and a father to have that, necessarily. In my opinion, you could live with grandparents, or have two moms, or have a widowed father, etc., and still be able to have that type of home.

        You’re welcome, and I’m glad that I didn’t accidentally offend you in any way.

        Like

        1. Gotcha. Unfortunately I don’t know any families like that… And I would still think that what they were doing was wrong even if I did, though their fidelity IS commendable.

          Right. I realize that sometimes a parent dies or a single mom raises her kids or children are raised by grandparents (I know MANY, MANY such families personally) and while they are precious and awesome, it’s not IDEAL. As hard as a single parent tries or grandparents try, the kids ARE going to experience the repercussions of “missing something.” In my humble opinion, of course. πŸ™‚

          Like

  12. Okay, I know this awesome post is like, a month old, but I’ve been admiring/thinking about it for the last month, so I thought it was high time I commented. πŸ™‚

    I totally agree with you that homosexuality is wrong, and I admire the courage it must have taken to post this. I, too, have been annoyed with the gay agenda being pushed in the name of “diversity.” True diversity is a great and beautiful thing, and it’s a shame that the waters have been muddied with something as sordid as promoting and excusing sexual immorality.

    As for writing homosexual characters…that’s something I, personally, would feel safer steering clear of. For one thing, I don’t know enough about it; I don’t have enough experience with homosexual people, and portraying them inaccurately would probably do more harm than good. But I can see what you mean about the hole in fiction. We need somebody to write books like that…and if you feel that’s what God’s calling you to do, then go for it, girl! Just hold tightly to that truth, and don’t let go or compromise your values for anything.

    You know, there’s a book I’ve heard about but never read entitled “The Accidental Marriage,” by Roger Thomas. I think the main characters are homosexual, but it’s published by Ignatius Press, which is an authentically Catholic publishing company (as you might know, the Catholic Church teaches that homosexual behavior is wrong). If it’s a conversion story, as I would assume it is, it might not exactly fill the literary hole you’re looking at…but if it’s a book that looks at homosexuality seriously and sympathetically, from the “homosexuality is wrong” standpoint, then it might be a good place to start? Just a thought. πŸ™‚

    Anyway. Just wanted to drop an encouraging word or two saying I support your beliefs all the way and am so proud of you for speaking out about them! Now go be a light in the darkness! πŸ™‚

    Like

    1. Oh, Lucy! What a lovely comment! I especially love that you took some time to think it over *clutches heart* Don’t get me wrong – I live flailing impulsive comments too, but making people THINK??? That is the goal.

      Thank you so much. I was nervous that people would be mad, but so far every has been very kind and gracious.

      Same here. I WANT to see real diversity in fiction… and I hate to think that this post might make some people think that I’m against diversity… I’M NOT. Diversity is awesome. Racial diversity, religious diversity, the representation of disabilities – ALL AWESOME THINGS. I’m even okay with sexually diverse casts… I just feel that the whole “diversity” movement has been hijacked by pro-homosexuals and turned into a billboard or poster child for them and that is so wrong.

      I agree with you – doing it wrong is worse than not doing it at all. I realize that what I’m undertaking is serious… not to taken lightly. This is a huge responsibility… BEING A WRITER IS A HUGE RESPONSIBILITY. So I hope I don’t screw up…

      I do feel called to do this. And I just wanna say thank you for understanding? Because some people don’t seem to. This is something I really believe I need to do.

      I’ll be sure to look into it! Thank you for the recommendation. πŸ™‚ I’ll need to do some reading up on this, won’t I? πŸ™‚

      Thank you so much, Lucy! Your comment means the world to me!πŸ’•πŸ’•πŸ’•

      Like

  13. Hello Kate,
    I wouldn’t keep at home a book with homosexual characters, lest my adolescence approaching boys read it. I think it is not a healthy behavior. I have recently published at Amazon an ebook “Modern Diet and Stress Cause Homosexuality: A Hypothesis and a Potential Therapy, which I hope will bring a new perspective on homosexuality.

    Like

    1. Obviously as a mother it is your prerogative to censor what your young children read, so I respect that decision though I do not agree with it entirely. In my opinion, your boys are GOING to be exposed to homosexuality sooner or later and it would probably be better if you exposed them to it intentionally so that you could discuss it with them in a safe environment. While I agree with you that homosexuality is wrong, I do not have a problem with homosexuality being depicted in fiction as long as it IS portrayed as an unhealthy and potentially dangerous lifestyle that has very real consequences.

      Like

Leave a Reply

