A Survey… For Me, Not You

Nobody panic! You do not have to fill out anything.

Actually, I’m joining the linkup hosted by Perpetual Page-Turner to answer all-the -questions-ever-thought about the books I read this year. If you enjoy such nerdiness as well, I suggest you head on over there and join the fray.

Bookishness…

Number Of Books You Read:

93. Ta-daa!

Number of Re-Reads:

Uh… all of them?

Okay, okay. You got me. They weren’t all rereads.

Genre You Read The Most From:

Fantasy, Christian, or Classic.

I don’t track these things too well?

1. Best Book You Read In 2016?

The Great Gatsby.

It was assigned for school and… and I liked it? Strange.

2. Book You Were Excited About & Thought You Were Going To Love More But Didn’t?

Life Without Limits by Nick Vujicic. I feel bad even saying that because I’m positive that this man’s story has inspired thousands of people. He’s an awesome guy. But this book just didn’t impact me the way I expected and hoped it would.

3. Most surprising (in a good way or bad way) book you read?  

The Safe Lands trilogy.

I began this series once before and hated it. Quit the first book before I got halfway through. But then I thought… “I should’ve given it more of a chance.”

So I tried again. And loved it.

 4. Book You “Pushed” The Most People To Read (And They Did)?

I don’t do this much? Because I am surrounded by people who don’t read, so…

However, I’m constantly shoving the Hunger Games trilogy down willing and unwilling throats, so we’ll go with that.

5. Best series you started in 2016? Best Sequel of 2016? Best Series Ender of 2016?

How is this one question?

Best series? The Song of Seare trilogy.

Best sequel? Beneath the Forsaken City or Outcasts.

Best finale? The Sword and the Song, by three miles at least.

 6. Favorite new author you discovered in 2016?

Robin McKinley. Lynn Austin. F. Scott Fitzgerald.

7. Best book from a genre you don’t typically read/was out of your comfort zone?

Both Sunshine and Shadows were unusual reads for me.

8. Most action-packed/thrilling/unputdownable book of the year?

In Between by Jenny B. Jones. My first encounter with Jones was when I read her book There You’ll Find Me, an instant favorite. For some strange reason, In Between was free on my tablet and recognizing the author of Finley’s sass, I immediately gobbled it up.

9. Book You Read In 2016 That You Are Most Likely To Re-Read Next Year?

I would say “most of them” because I am Queen of Rereading, but one of my New Year’s resolutions was to read only books that are new to me – absolutely no rereading allowed.

10. Favorite cover of a book you read in 2016?

Sunshine had a pretty cover.

7642463

I also like these…

189391304671

11. Most memorable character of 2016?

Omar from the Safe Lands trilogy.

12. Most beautifully written book read in 2016?

Fahrenheit 451 and Jacob Have I Loved were both gorgeous.

13. Most Thought-Provoking/ Life-Changing Book of 2016?

Either the Safe Lands trilogy or the Song of Seare trilogy. Both series unabashedly wrangle with some incredibly difficult topics. Have I ever mentioned how much I love that?

14. Book you can’t believe you waited UNTIL 2016 to finally read? 

The Great Gatsby. Fahrenheit 451. Jacob Have I Loved. Blue Like Jazz. Oliver Twist.

All of them, basically?

15. Favorite Passage/Quote From A Book You Read In 2016?

Hope you plan to be here for awhile…

“For a moment it hurt. It hurt a lot, like it had the night after Dad had died, when the world that Mom and Ran and I lived in shattered into millions of sharp little pieces, and we were walking around on the slivers, so every step cut into us, and all we saw around was empty and broken. When we found out that people die when they shouldn’t. That stuff happens, and sometimes it happens to you.
That the world was nothing like I’d thought it was.”

Shadows, Robin McKinley

“Living is dreaming.”

Ben-Hur, Lew Wallace

I plan to write an entire post about the amazing quotes of North To Freedom, so I’ll leave you in suspense for those…

“Writers don’t make any money at all. We make about a dollar. It is terrible. But then again we don’t work either. We sit around in our underwear until noon then go downstairs and make coffee, fry some eggs, read the paper, read part of a book, smell the book, wonder if perhaps we ourselves should work on our book, smell the book again, throw the book across the room because we are quite jealous that any other person wrote a book, feel terribly guilty about throwing the schmuck’s book across the room because we secretly wonder if God in heaven noticed our evil jealousy, or worse, our laziness. We then lie across the couch facedown and mumble to God to forgive us because we are secretly afraid He is going to dry up all our words because we envied another man’s stupid words.”

Blue Like Jazz, Donald Miller

Okay, that’s all. That last one sums me up perfectly, by the way.

16.Shortest & Longest Book You Read In 2016?

Scarlett was the longest book I read this year at 884 pages long. Goodreads refuses to tell me which book was the shortest.

17. Book That Shocked You The Most (Because of a plot twist, character death, left you hanging with your mouth wide open, etc.)

I was shocked by Deerskin and Rebels, both in a not-happy kind of way.

18. OTP OF THE YEAR (you will go down with this ship!) (OTP = one true pairing if you aren’t familiar)

Katniss and Gale. I mean Katniss and Peeta. I mean Katniss and Gale?

19. Favorite Non-Romantic Relationship Of The Year

The relationship between the three brothers, Mason, Levi, and Omar in the Safe Lands trilogy. Also Maggie’s relationship with her best friend and her relationship with her younger brother. Jake’s relationship with Lois, his baby dragon. Conor’s relationship with Eoghan. Finley’s relationship with Sister Maria and Mrs. Sweeney. Sylvi’s relationship with Ebon.

What? I like non-romantic relationships.

20. Favorite Book You Read in 2016 From An Author You’ve Read Previously

In Between, by Jenny B. Jones. For aforementioned reasons.

21. Best Book You Read In 2016 That You Read Based SOLELY On A Recommendation From Somebody Else/Peer Pressure:

Ha. No. I do not read books this way. I do not know what peer pressure is.

No, I’m serious. I never read the books that are recommended to me. Not that I don’t love it when you make recommendations. I do. I’m just… terrible at actually reading them.

22. Newest fictional crush from a book you read in 2016?

Con from Sunshine. And Guy from Fahrenheit 451.

23. Best 2016 debut you read?

I don’t think I read any books that were published in 2016 in 2016. Actually, I’m reasonably sure that most of the books I read in 2016 were written before 1971. Yep.

24. Best Worldbuilding/Most Vivid Setting You Read This Year?

The Hunger Games and the Safe Lands trilogy.

25. Book That Put A Smile On Your Face/Was The Most FUN To Read?

Blue Like Jazz, by Donald Miller. His sense of humor is perfect.

26. Book That Made You Cry Or Nearly Cry in 2016?

Are you looking at me? I do not cry. Ever.

27. Hidden Gem Of The Year?

If I say The Great Gatsby one more time you will hunt me down and steal all my books in my sleep, and, while that would ultimately be a good thing because I would retain my sanity, but I actually kind of want the books more than my sanity, so I will say…

The Great Gatsby.

Just kidding… Jacob Have I Loved. Happy now?

28. Book That Crushed Your Soul?

The Great Gatsby. Ouch. Consider soul officially crushed. Apparently I enjoy my soul being crushed, though…

29. Most Unique Book You Read In 2016?

I’m gonna say Pegasus by Robin McKinley. It had zero romance, human-animal friendship, animals-who-acted-just-like-humans-but-weren’t, and essentially no plot.

In a word, unique.

30. Book That Made You The Most Mad (doesn’t necessarily mean you didn’t like it)?

Deerskin. It was… awful. Never read this book. It is not okay.

 

Blogishness…

1. New favorite book blog you discovered in 2016?

How am I to answer such a question?

I rediscovered Abbiee‘s blog that makes me want to eat waffles, go indie, and have gorgeous hair. I discovered Kenzie‘s blog of spunk and randomness. I rediscovered Christine‘s blog and got to know Christine who is like the big sister I never had. Except I have three big sisters, but whatever. I also met Anna who has become a dear friend. And Kit who is apparently my long-lost twin?

I’m gonna go cry stormily in a corner now because I like you all so much.

2. Favorite review that you wrote in 2016?

Well, this is easy. I only wrote one. Sunshine, by Robin McKinley.

3. Best discussion/non-review post you had on your blog?

How should I know? You guys can vote in the comments.

4. Best event that you participated in (author signings, festivals, virtual events, memes, etc.)?

I don’t participate in most of those things… I am, after all, an introvert, so you can’t exactly expect me to betray my true self and be social, right? Right.

However. I do participate in Cait and Sky‘s monthly Beautiful People linkup, because I know Cait and, even though she is famous, she is not scary and I like her.

5. Best moment of bookish/blogging life in 2016?

By far the best moment was when I realized that for the first time in two years of blogging, I had an audience.

Like, humans wanted to read my words? Totally unprecedented. I’m still in shock, to be perfectly honest.

6. Most challenging thing about blogging or your reading life this year?

I suppose that my biggest struggle is comparing myself to other bloggers. Like, “She started at the same time I did and has triple the followers and great hair! How does this happen?”

Stuff like that.

Otherwise, my experience has been fantastic. No rude or abusive comments, no trolling, no drama.

7. Most Popular Post This Year On Your Blog (whether it be by comments or views)?

I don’t monitor views so much? Comments, on the other hand… Well, suffice it to say I rabidly stalk the comments.

I got 54 comments on my post about being nominated Sunshine Blogger. But the numbers might be a bit warped by the fact that Sarah and I started debating Hamilton in the comments?

Personally, I loved when I shared snippets for the first time and everyone said the sweetest things imaginable. That was fun. And made my face hurt from smiling too much.

8. Post You Wished Got A Little More Love?

As some of you know, I moved my blog to WordPress in September. Before that I had been blogging at Blogger and I had essentially no following there.

So.

The thirty-something posts that I wrote to my nonexistent audience were moved over and immediately found their way into the deep dark recesses of the forgotten past. I wrote new posts, I got new followers… Nobody goes back to read the old ones.

Basically, any of those posts could qualify.

Honestly, I don’t mind. My writing style has become much more decided since then, so I shudder to think what drivel you would find should you read them…

Just don’t read them, okay?

And then there are other times when it would seem that my timing was off, or I got a little too nerdy for my own good.

Wanna make my day? Check out this bit of rambling about the Hobbit movie trilogy or this piece of nerdiness about the Lord of the Rings books.

9. Best bookish discover (book related sites, book stores, etc.)?

Um. That nearly every classic ever written is free on my tablet? I may or may not have squeaked excitedly like the small bookish mouse that I am to see so many books piling up on my virtual shelves.

10.  Did you complete any reading challenges or goals that you had set for yourself at the beginning of this year?

Alas, I did not.

I set my goal on Goodreads for 200 books. This was kind of a wild guess? I had never tracked how many books I read in a year before and 200 seemed about right…

Whew! That was a lot of surveyishness. I am exhausted and must go sleep now.

Before I go: What was your favorite post of mine this year? What was the best book you read this year? Did you make any New Year’s resolutions? What are they? What was your best blogging moment this year? What book crushed your soul this year? What book made you cry? Did you discover any new authors? Go on, scream at me.

35 thoughts on “A Survey… For Me, Not You”

  1. EEEK you JUST discovered Fitzgerald this year? WAHT? 😂 Just kidding! And yeah, our lengthy Hamilton discussions do throw off the comment a bit. *high fives bc Anthony as 9-year-old Philip is just so adorable* idk where that came from but it’s trueee.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. OH MY GOODNESS OH MY GOODNESS OH MY GOODNESS, IN BETWEEEEEEENNNNN!!!!!!!

    I read that this year too!!! I LOVE LOVE LOVE LOVEDDDD it!!! Eek!!! I’m so happy! I thought I was the only person in the entire planet who read it???? EE!! Wasn’t it amazing????

    And I am totally going to go check out those posts you linked, because 1. I LOVE THE HOBBIT, and 2. I ALSO LOVE THE LOTR!!!! So I’m gonna go read those.

    Let’s see… My favorite post you wrote??? How in the world am I going to answer that??? I cannot simply for two reasons. 1. I have loved each and every one of your posts and it is impossible for me to pick a favorite, and 2. as soon as those words flashed before my eyes, my mind went completely blank as to every post I’ve ever read by anyone this year. (Does this only happen to me???)

    And as for resolutions, why yes, I did make some! Basically just a lot of writerly things like stop eating so many cookies, actually sit down and write my book during a time that is absent from NaNoWriMo, and SERIOUSLY NO MORE COOKIES.

    #writergoals

    Also, I am very jealous of a lot of other bloggers’ hair??? Like, how are they pretty, witty, wrote like eight billion books this year, and ALSO have great hair??? Like, that should not be possible.

    And the only thing that absolutely crushed my soul this year was Doctor Who. I know that is not anywhere close to a book, but SERIOUSLY IT STILL HURTS. I feel like someone took away my most precious flower and killed it.

    So yeah. Soul=crushed.

    Like

  3. BOOOOOKS. I’m a sucker for all posts related to books, so this is great!!! I had so much fun reading this!

    My best friend keeps telling me to read The Great Gatsby but…I have not yet. Apparently I need to!

    SO MUCH YES TO THE HUNGER GAMES. I’ve read the whole trilogy erm…5 times. Eheh. I think I’m a wee bit obsessed. *cough*

    I REALLY want to read The Song of Seare trilogy. THIS NEEDS TO HAPPEN.

    All those quotes you shared are just…wow. Especially the being a writer one. It’s so sadly accurate. 😄

    And GIRL. You’re giving me all the fuzzy feels when you mentioned me and said I was like a big sister. That…that…THAT IS THE NICEST. I don’t even know what to SAY. I’ve loved how we’ve gotten to know each other in the past few months. It’s so great!

    I do so hope you have the best reading and blogging year yet!

    Like

  4. “I suppose that my biggest struggle is comparing myself to other bloggers.” Ditto. That’s something I struggle with a lot, too. It’s so silly, though, as playing the comparison game is really quite pointless. It doesn’t solve anything. I’m really hoping to do less of that this year. 🙂

    One of my favorite posts of yours this year (or rather last year) was your post on Mary from It’s a Wonderful Life. That was awesome! 🙂

    Like

  5. AHAHA FREE CLASSICS EEEEEE I LOVE THOSE!!! (Yes, I think we must be twins…) My various Kindles, before breaking or disappearing or going off to a sad, lonely fate, were stuffed with classics. I had almost no recently-written books on them, since $7 seemed so expensive after everything else being nothing or only 99 cents. (Is there a cent symbol on keyboards? I can’t find it.) But there were soooo many free classics, like all of Austen and Shakespeare and probably Les Mis (though I didn’t own it) and plenty of L. M. Montgomery, along with Dickens and Alcott and Twain and Poe and EVERYONE. *squeaks happily*

    I’ve never read The Great Gatsby, though I probably should. Actually, I know nothing about it other than the author’s name and the time period it takes place in. What is it about, exactly??

    I love your new header, too!

    Like

  6. I know, right? I ought to be thrilled – I have nearly 40 followers in just five months and I’ve made so many friends! And I am thankful… It’s just all too easy to feel unoriginal, isn’t it?

    Aw, thank you! Glad you liked it!

    Like

  7. Sounds like a good friend! And she’s right – YOU MUST READ IT.

    Ha! I think I’ve read it two times a year since I discovered it in 2013… #alsoobsessed

    YAS!!! It is so good!

    Right??? Makes me laugh because it is my life. 🙂

    Agreed. Getting to know you has been one of the highlights of my year!

    You, too!

    Like

  8. It was so good!!! Katie is ME, all the way. So strange. 🙂

    Awwww! You are too kind!

    Don’t worry – happens to me all the time! (Funny story: couldn’t seem to remember how the Happy Birthday song went the other day… Just DRAWING A BLANK HERE GUYS!)

    SAME!!! Why do you all have such amazing hair??? I AM THE JEALOUS.

    I am so very sorry. Your poor flower/soul.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. FIRSTLY, YES, WE ARE TWINS, WHY DO YOU ASK???

    Secondly, I’d anything happened to my tablet (fondly named Alexander Hamilton), I think I would die.

    NOTHING IS BETTER THAN FREE CLASSICS! #subtleBigHero6references

    *joins you in squeaking happily*

    AHH, MY NEW LOVE! In a nutshell: Jay Gatsby is incredibly wealthy, but not stupid. He realizes just how empty, how futile, how shallow the life he leads is. He knows something’s missing. And so he becomes fixated on the idea that that something is Daisy Buchanan, his old girlfriend. The problem? Daisy is married.

    Now, I KNOW that sounds very modern and gross and unsubstantial, but IT IS GORGEOUS AND DEEPLY SAD. Jay is a complete fool, but his naïveté is so so sweet and endearing and… ASDGHKLLJHHGDSAA JUST READ IT!!!

    Aw, thank you!

    Liked by 1 person

  10. *GASP!* Really??? No!!!! I can’t even imagine! I mean, it’s not like you share a name/soul or anything, right??? Bahahaha!!

    Ooh! The Happy Birthday song is the best! I revamped it to give it a little bit of an annoying tune, and that is officially what I sing to my siblings and parents on their birthdays.

    It’s actually become a family tradition, and we all sing it now…

    I AM THE JEALOUS, TOO… I want pretty hair… But eh. It takes too much time to make it look good, so I’m good with messy braids and the “Don’t talk to me, I’m trying to write and my hair looks awful” vibe.

    *sobbing* I just can’t seem to get over it!!! WAAAAAHHHHHHHHHH!!!!

    Also, on a side note, your photo at the top of you blog is absolutely epic, and DID YOU TAKE THAT PICTURE YOURSELF BECAUSE IT IS SERIOUSLY AWESOME…

    Like

  11. BAHAHAHA VERY TRUE.

    That sounds… AMAZING. I NEED TO HEAR THIS!

    So true! Good hair is also slightly painful??? I rarely fix mine nice, but when I do, I get killer headaches (I have an enormous amount of hair… It’s heavy).

    BY THE WAY, I LOVE THAT VIBE. KEEP IT UP.

    Um. The one of the books and lamp??? NO. My picture-taking is severely limited by my lack of camera. *distant sobbing*

    Liked by 1 person

  12. It is so much fun to do!

    Oh my goodness, yessss!!! It hurts! I actually had quite a bit of mine chopped off last year, but it’s starting to grow back long again (which I’m excited about because I WANT TO BE RAPUNZEL!!!) and it used to be really heavy and hard to style and just, UGH!! Ooh!! Long hair is the best! I want mine to hang around waist-length, but I’m not sure if I’ll ever get that length before I’m forty-two.

    I actually don’t have a camera either! I use my phone and prisma, but I wish I could take, like, REALLY good pictures… May I ask where you found such an amazing picture??

    Like

  13. I adore having my hair short!!!! (Seriously, it looks so cute, like a smol bush of curls… *sighs*) But… like the temperamental mess that it is, IT GROWS BACK IN ABOUT THREE SECONDS, CURSE IT! So I never get to enjoy the shortness for long (this is getting rather punny, isn’t it?). If I had the money (I have to go somewhere to have it cut), I would keep it short aaaaaaalll the time. ALAS, I’M BROKE. So it’s almost waist length just now…

    I use my tablet. The pictures are blurry, but I can usually doctor them up so they look nice (if I’m not too lazy, which isn’t often).

    I found it on unsplash.com – all the pictures on there are free! But I think I actually spotted it on Pinterest, as well???

    Liked by 1 person

  14. Oh my word, that sounds adorable!!! I wish I had curly hair. Mine is just sort of like a mess of waves and frizz??? Bahahahahahaha!!! I love puns! Puns are the best! And ooh!! I am jealous of your waist-length hair! Ugh, I can’t cut my own hair… I don’t know how some people do it… I guess someday I’m going to have to learn, but I’m too frightened to actually try it…

    Oh!! That is AWESOME! I’ll have to check into that… Sometimes I want a certain kind of photo, but I’m not that great with taking pictures, and I’m scared to use pinterest because of copyright problems. (eek…)

    Like

  15. Yes. Far too easy, unfortunately. And I hadn’t actually thought that I was feeling unoriginal, but after reading your comment, yes. That describes it perfectly.

    But 40 followers in five months? That’s excellent, Kate! Don’t get discouraged. You’re doing great! 😀

    Like

  16. Oops! I put the idea into your head…

    I knooow! I should be bubbling over with happiness (and I am)! I don’t even know what I would do with a huge following!

    Like

  17. Mine is a mess of curls and FRIZZZZZZ!!! With lots of emphasis on the frizz…

    Yeah, cutting your own hair would be majorly scary. Maybe we should never do that?

    Same here! I’m not sure about Pinterest either! Like, am I allowed to take these photos and do whatever with them?? I don’t want to steal, but why would put your picture where EVERYONE IN THE WORLD can see it if you don’t want it to be stolen…?

    Liked by 1 person

  18. I love your tablet’s name. That is utter genius. (All of my Kindles were christened names from Shakespeare. AND OH MY GOODNESS. I JUST REALIZED. All of my Kindles were named after tragic characters, or at least ones that died… like Othello and Hamlet. Maybe that’s why THEY all got lost or broke or something. I’ll try to remember to not do that if I ever get another one… I could name it something from Midsummer, maybe?)

    *has never watched Big Hero 6* *probably should*

    Quick Note: I am in awe of the fact that you actually included the little accent marks instead of just typing naivete. I’d just be lazy and type it the way that I just did.

    That does sound interesting. We had and maybe still have a copy around the house, so I’ll see if I can read it. *makes mental note*

    Like

  19. Isn’t it—OH NO OH NO OH NO MY TABLET IS GOING TO GET SHOT IN A DUEL THIS IS TERRIBLE WHAT DO I DO?????

    Oops. It’s kind of cute and funny, but don’t feel pressured or anything. One character (who is rather odd) declares, “Nothing is better than free food!” So. That was my subtle attempt to reference it. 🙂

    Ha! Ha. Hahaha. Heh. Yeah, no. I didn’t actually do that. Alexander Hamilton saw that I was trying to type the word “naivete” and added the cute stuff for me. I kind of know where they go on the word but I have no clue how to find them on a keyboard because they are kind of more like dots than typical accent marks???

    DEFINITELY READ IT. IT IS FANTASTIC!

    Like

  20. KEEP IT AWAY FROM OTHER TABLETS AT ALL COST, ESPECIALLY ONES NAMED AARON BURR. (I mean, if there is one…) And probably it should shy away from guns and being in New Jersey, just to be safe??

    Hehe, okay. 🙂

    I cannot function very well on tablets, for some reason. They’re too small. So even if you didn’t put them all in, I’m still in awe. 😛

    I SHALL TRY!

    Like

  21. BUT WHAT IF IT RUNS AWAY WHEN I’M NOT LOOKING???

    Yes, mine is particularly small. I would say “thank goodness for autocorrect” but it is also kind of the Bane of My Existence, so…

    DO IT!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  22. Bahahaha! Oh yes! Let us never EVER cut our own hair. It would be a disaster!

    And Oh my word, yes! Why would they use such beautiful, eye-catching images if they didn’t want them to be taken for public use??? Such selfishness!

    Like

Leave a Reply

