2016 Character Awards!

So Cait designed a lovely little Character Awards post that she invited us all to politely steal. Because impolitely stealing things isn’t nice.

So I did. Politely stole it, that is.

Now, feel warned. Cait’s questions are somewhat tailored to someone who reads more YA than I do. And so you may notice that my answers don’t always fit quite right… or that I bend the rules a bit. My apologies, Cait.

Personally, I do a great deal of rereading and I read a few classics and a bit of nonfiction. So obviously I had to… tweak things a bit.

Before we get to the, um, ceremony, you should know one last thing. I read 93 books this year. Aren’t you proud of me? I am thoroughly proud of me. You should be, too.

Okay, I’m actually a little disappointed? I set my goal on Goodreads for 200. I thought I could do it. I’ve never tracked how many books I read in a year before… 200 seemed quite reasonable.

Alas, either I overestimated how many books I can squeeze into one year… or I had a bad year in the Reading Department. I think it was the latter? This year was weird in the Reading Department… I had my first reading slump… and ended up hiding from certain scary books for months… books that may or may not be titled Don Quixote and The House of the Seven Gables…

I feel myself beginning to hyperventilate. Breathe, breathe, breathe…

Okay. What if we start the ceremony, yes?

Image result for let it begin rhino gif

1. MOST RELATABLE CHARACTER

I’m gonna be that annoying person who can’t decide and say Wheeze from Jacob Have I Loved and Katie from In Between.

I related to Wheeze’s circumstances. Like Wheeze, I sometimes struggle with feeling like I will never step out of my siblings’ shadows. After all, there are a lot of them. And they are all so incredibly talented. It’s hard to feel… special.

Katie’s, on the other hand, were nothing like mine – but her personality was. We’re both dramatic and love good clothes and chocolate and accidentally memorize plays that we’re not actually in. Oops?
2. MOST PURE AND PRECIOUS ANIMAL COMPANION

Hix, one of the “shadows” from, well, Shadows, is adorable. As is Lois, the baby dragon Jake adopts in Dragonhaven.

I was also sorely tempted to mention the baby dragon in my novel, The Songless. However, as it is not technically published yet…
3. FIERCEST FIGHTER

Orual, from Till We Have Faces.

Ha! You thought I was going to say Katniss?
4. MOST AMAZING SIDEKICK

Jim, from Huckleberry Finn. Jim is a sweet guy. If you’re planning a raft trip, I seriously advise you to take Jim with you. It will just make your life so much better. I promise.
5. ONE YOU’RE SURPRISED YOU LOVED

Jemma, from the Safe Lands trilogy. Normally I do not like – nay, I detest – the Overly Sweet and Kind Soul of Goodness. But Jemma was refreshingly genuine and realistic.
6. BEST SASSMASTER

Without a doubt, Finley, from There You’ll Find Me.

“The least you could do is offer a little conversation.” Beckett dodged a pothole, keeping his eyes on the road.
“You want me to talk?”
“It would be the polite thing to do.”
“Okay. Let’s talk.”
“Any topic will be fine.”
“I’m going to sit here and silently think of one. Might take a while.”

Finley is my hero.
7. BEST ANTI-HERO AND MORALLY GREY GRAPE

Omar from the Safe Lands trilogy. I hope to get a review out soon, but Omar was the best part of this trilogy. I deeply appreciated that Williamson didn’t tack up a “Church-going Protagonists Only” sign up at the door. Omar is high on drugs for approximately half of this trilogy. But he’s still a good guy. He still believes. He just doesn’t act like it. Most of the time.
8. BEST WORST VILLAIN TO HATE

President Snow, always and forever.
9. TRULY ASTOUNDING WORST YA PARENTS

Katie’s foster parents from In Between. Not that they were that bad, but I certainly don’t recommend trying to win a difficult teenager’s heart the way they go about it.
10. TRULY ASTOUNDING BEST YA PARENTS

I don’t know that A Wrinkle In Time would traditionally be classified as YA… but I don’t read much in that genre, so bear with me. I’m going to say Meg’s parents. Though technically, only her mother is present for much of the story. Still. She is an awesome mom. I would like to abduct her and force her at gunpoint to adopt me.

Aerin-from-The Hero and the Crown‘s parents were also truly fantastic. I will abduct them as well.
11. TOOT TOOT BEST SHIP OF THEM ALL

Jo and Laurie. Duh. And Julie and the nasty doctor from Fire By Night. I have a weakness for nasty doctors with addictions to alcohol and sarcasm. Also a little bit of Maggie and Takahiro, from Shadows.
12. THE MOST IN NEED OF PROTECTION

Honestly, I want to protect them all?

But for the sake of brevity, I will only name two. Frankenstein’s monster and Jay Gatsby. Frankenstein’s monster is too sweet to survive in our harsh world and Gatsby is far too naive.
13. MOST BORING AS A BARNACLE

Robinson Crusoe from Robinson Crusoe. I have not sufficient words to describe my hatred for this disgusting hero. And for good measure, let’s throw Ben-Hur in there, too. In a fight to the death, I predict that Crusoe would barricade himself in a corner with materials he brought with him and Judah would agree to marry all the women in the crowd who shouted catcalls.
14. BEST LITTLE ROYAL

There were not a great many royals in my readings this year, unfortunately, but I did like Rowena from The Reluctant Duchess.

Oh! I know. Jay Gatsby, from The Great Gatsby. He was adorable.
15. VERY SURPRISED YOU’RE STILL ALIVE

Um, Katniss? And Rae from Sunshine. Both of you should have been dead… yesterday. Or last month.
16. BEST AT HORRIBLE DECISION MAKING

Archer Keaton from the Dreamtreaders trilogy. Though I must argue that bad decision-making is one of the fundamental building-blocks of every story. Frustrating? Yes. Agonizing? Absolutely. But true.
17. CUTEST DORK

Aaron from Bridge To Terabithia and Anne from Anne of Green Gables. So adorkable.
18. CLEVEREST LITTLE HELLION

Huck Finn from Huckleberry Finn. He is a rather devious little boy, but also completely lovable. I shall adopt him.
19. MOST IN NEED OF A NAP

Conor from the Song of Seare trilogy. This poor guy! He is always so exhausted… and covered in blood… and wounds… and beginning to fray mentally…

He. Needeth. Sleep.

Now.
20. WANT TO READ MORE ABOUT YOU

Finnick and Annie from the Hunger Games trilogy. Anyone with me here? They are seriously the most adorable couple to ever grace the pages of a book and I want more. How did they meet?

Scream at me about: how many books you read this year, how many books you wanted to read this year, whether this was a weird Reading Year or not, which character you would most want to read more about, your favoritest ship, the character that you are the most surprised is still alive, and which villain you hate the most. Go ahead. Scream at me.

 

16 thoughts on “2016 Character Awards!”

  1. I read a lot this year! Not as much as I would’ve liked since I was in a reading slump for about 2 months, but a decent amount of books were read.
    Also, I agree with you sooo much in everything!
    How the heck is Katniss still alive?
    ANNE IS SO FREAKING ADORKABLE!
    AND I NEED MORE FINNICK AND ANNIE!!!!!!! THEY MIGHT JUST BE MY FAVORITE THING EVER
    Happy New Year!
    ~Julia ❤

    Like

  2. Girl, I only read 35 books this year. So your 93 is impressive!!! I’m a very slow reader these days and it makes me a sad panda. I’m also sad about how few of these books you mentioned I’ve read.

    But I SO NEED MORE OF FINNICK AND ANNIE YES PLEASE AND THANK YOU. THEY ARE THE GREATEST THINGS TO GRACE THE PAGES OF BOOKS AND I NEEEEEED.

    Also, I’ve only read the first book of The Safe Lands trilogy so far, but I agree that it’s so great how Jill Williamson isn’t afraid to tackle tough issues and not make her books all fluff even though they’re Christian. WE NEED MORE CHRISTIAN AUTHORS LIKE THAT.

    Happy New Year! I hope your 2017 is full of amazing books!

    Like

    1. Well, thank you! Also aren’t you supposed to be on hiatus??? *sternly wrestles you back into bed*

      Agreed. I hope to put out a review on the whole trilogy soon, but yes. That was my favorite thing, I think.

      Thank you! Hope yours is as well!

      Like

  3. THIS IS GOING TO BE SO LONG BUT I DONT CARE:

    First off, Yes. Yes. Yes. YES YES. ANNIE AND FINNICK are so ADORABLE and Finnick is so funny and awesome and Annie is so sweet and just…. ugh. I’m sick of Katniss and Peeta. Let’s hear about Annie and Finnick for a change, huh??
    And who can’t love baby dragons? I love baby dragons. In fact, I have about three I keep as pets and I feed them chocolate every morning. (Jk, I pretend to feed them chocolate but instead eat them myself while making them eat salad.) They enjoy it so much.
    AND FINLEY SOUNDS SO SASSY AND I NEED TO READ THAT BECAUSE HE WILL MAKE ME HAPPY AND MAKE ME FEEL A PART OF THIS WORLD!
    Yay, I dislike sweet and kind soul of goodness characters… in fact, I usually find myself voting for the bad guys… (oops) But THANK YOU for relating. I like sassy, mischievous and utterly rude people. LIKE SHERLOCK!!! #sherlockismylife
    President Snow is the best and worst villain every created. He is shockingly unlikable, which makes him so likable. #teamsnow
    Anyway, thanks for posting and making everything so refreshingly funny and just….. yeah.

    Like

    1. Never apologize! I love long comments and besides, mine are always gargantuan too, so I couldn’t complain if I wanted to???

      Yas!!! I adore them! So broken and mentally frayed and adorable!

      Baby dragoooonnnnnnnsssss!!!! Oh my gosh! I might possibly come to your house and abduct a couple of those lil vegetarian babies!!! And also abduct your chocolate.

      Well, actually Finley is a SHE, but yes she is sassy and my goal in life, basically.

      Right??? #badguyappreciation

      Ugh, I neeeeeed Sherlock in mah life!!!!

      Agreed. President Snow is EVIL… And intriguing…

      Awk! Thank you for reading and being awesome and for sweet comments!

      Like

  4. Wow. 93 books is A LOT in my estimation. I could never read that many in a year. And 200 would be absolutely ridiculous!

    Dare I tell you how many books I read this year? *pauses to think about it* Okay, I will. 16. (Yup. You read that right. Pitiful, isn’t it? ;)) And can you believe it? That was even an improvement over the previous year. I read a total of 7 books in 2015. 😛

    Like

    1. Awww, thanks! You made me feel better! 🙂 I feel like normally I read a lot more… This year was weird as far as reading went.

      Whoa! Are you just a slower reader or you don’t have time to read much???

      Like

  5. I don’t know what it is really. I guess I just let other things take priority over reading. If I had a new and exciting book that was hard to put down, I’m sure I could whip it off pretty quick, but I haven’t had one of those in a while. 🙂 What I need to do is write out a new reading list and then be more intentional about working my way through it. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

