I Wrote A Book, Mon

When I was eleven years old, an idea captured my mind and wouldn’t let it go.

Over the next six years, it slowly captured my heart as well.

I poured all my energies into that story… but those energies were not terribly concentrated. My approach to writing was incredibly relaxed – I only wrote when I felt like writing. When inspiration struck. 

The story morphed, slowly, into something new. Evolved, you might say. So much, in fact, that it was eventually unrecognizable as the same story that had hatched in my mind so many years earlier.

NaNo changed that.

The story that I had been chipping away at has been completed.

Image result for we survived but we're dead gif

I don’t even know what to do with myself, to be honest. The feeling of being done is so… foreign. I have never completed a full-length novel before.

Image result for pirates of the caribbean running gif

I didn’t do it alone. After week two, I was running out of ideas fast. I had moved through my story too quickly and it was dying. That was when Shay and Brandon came into the picture and helped me to push through. Brandon wrote some brilliant posts that I desperately needed. Shay and I chatted using NaNo mail and guided me through some specific steps to extending my story.

I could not have done it without them.

What now?

Image result for pull yourself together gif

Well, I move on. This is so new to me… but it would seem, that for the first time I am free to explore the world of new ideas. 

Miss March and Christine, my sweet friends, encouraged me to take a break, telling me that I had done enough. Brandon, however, relentlessly advised me to plunge right into the next story.

He said, “Yes, this story is done. So start a new one. We are writers, after all. There is always another story.” Brandon is a wise boy.

One thing I’ll say for NaNo – it effectively gets you into the writing spirit. I could not stop thinking about my story. So, for a few weeks after NaNo, I worked on the fun stuff behind writing a book that I didn’t allow myself to procrastinate writing to do during NaNo.

I made a word-aesthetic.

img_20161118_232054

 

img_20161118_232129img_20161118_232121img_20161118_232114img_20161118_232104

I patched up my dilapidated outline.

And finally, I took a deep breath… and started something new.

But, deranged little overachiever that I am, I didn’t begin working on just one new story. I started four.

A futuristic novel about a seventeen-year-old surgeon whose patients are abducted.

A Beauty and the Beast retelling set in 19th century London.

An Alice in Wonderland and Alice Through The Looking Glass retelling about mirrors and mental hospitals.

A Peter Pan retelling without the “pan” I’m calling “Just Peter.”

Admittedly, I’ve zeroed in on the Beauty and the Beast retelling, though the others are just as intriguing.

And I’ve also started reading again, which, as you can probably imagine, is like a breath of fresh air. Of course, it is largely school-assigned reading – but when I’m assigned things like The Great Gatsby, I’m a happy girl.

My sad fingers are also happier now. Which is important to note. Because I know how much you care about my sad fingers.

So, tell me! What did you write in November? What’s next? Any exciting new projects you wanna reveal? What have you been reading lately? Got any recommendations for me?

 

32 thoughts on “I Wrote A Book, Mon

  1. Allie Taylor says:

    Hi Kate!

    I envy you so! I wrote a book, 40K words, this nano, only to be bored with it and throw it away days after NaNo finished. I don’t regret it, however. I mean, I wrote 40K in 30 days, and that includes plotting. At least I can say I wrote 40K. Whether or not I kept it, I’m still proud that I got that far. 😉 Anyway, I am SO SO SO happy for you! Like, seriously! I rarely comment on people’s blogs, so obviously, I’m here and am in awe! What is your novel about and how long is it???

    Annnyyyywaaayyy, I am SO happy you made it that far! I NEED ADVICE ON WRITING NOW! If your up for it, I could use a writing coach/encourager. So, ou know, the offer is here if you are able to do me a HUGE favor. 😉

    – Allie

    Like

  2. Christine says:

    I’M SO HAPPY FOR YOU AND PROUD OF YOU AND IN AWE OF YOU AND BASICALLY HAVE ALL THE FEELS. You. Are. Amazing. I mean, you plunged right into not one but FOUR new stories after the craziness of NaNo??? I repeat: YOU ARE AMAZING.

    Isn’t it the best feeling to be able to start something new? To have the freedom to write ANYTHING? I love it! And I know I’ve said it before but Peter Pan, Alice in Wonderland, and Beauty and the Beast are LITERALLY my three greatest loves. Just throw in Lord of the Rings and you have everything I live for. So yes! I AM ALREADY IN LOVE WITH YOUR STORIES.

    Also, your word-aesthetic it awesome! The first word I saw was “dragons” and got all excited because DRAGONSSSS. My other greatest love.

    Keep being amazing, girl!

    Like

  3. Sarah | For All Who Wander says:

    YOU GO GIRL. I kinda failed NaNo but shush lets just FREAK OUR BECAUSE THIS POST WAS AWESOME. Your new projects sound amazing, especially Alice and Peter! I can’t wait to see what comes of all of them, and do not throw away your shot! 😂

    Like

  4. smudgedthoughts says:

    Oh my word, I am SOOOOO excited for you!!!!! I’m still trudging along with my NaNo novel, and even that has come to a stand-still because of Christmas, but I’m hoping to have it finished by February!!!

    Also, I LOVE retellings! They are my favorite things to write!!!!!! And Beauty and the Beast??? Agh!!! Need to read it!!!!

    Are you planning on going back and editing your novel now that you have finished it??

    Like

  5. The Joys Of Julia says:

    Congrats!! That’s so amazing!! Just to be able to say “I wrote a book”, like that must be amazing!! Also I am currently 12 and I just recently (a couple weeks ago) had a book idea blossom in my head, and this post really inspired me to keep working on it, no matter how long/many years it takes! Also Beauty and the Beast? You mean my favorite Disney movie like.. EVER!! Belle was my childhood!! All your other projects sound really amazing too! ~Julia ❤

    Like

  6. Kate Marie says:

    Hi, Allie!!

    WHERE AM I EVEN TO START WITH SUCH A SWEET COMMENT???

    Thank you! And ohmygoodness, YOU HAVE SO MUCH TO BE PROUD OF, DEAR!!! 40k is… ALOTTA WORDS. Seriously. Be proud. (And hang onto that story! You’ll want it later, I promise!)

    Also I can’t say how pleased I am that you commented! Thank you! I adore comments (more than chocolate, but don’t tell!). 🙂

    Eeek! Your interest is so flattering! It’s an apocalyptic fantasy… Mental illness, singing, fire, angels, antiheroes… All that jazz. It’s at about 62k now!

    Awwwwwww! Email me at storyanddarkchocolate@gmail.com and tell me how I can help!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Allie Taylor says:

    Hi, Kate!!!
    Aww, you’re too sweet!!! I deleted the story! 😦 WHAT IS WRONG WITH MEEEEE!!!???
    Yes! Me too! Haha, I won’t! *agrees*
    Ooh! Sounds fun! Yet scary… Ah! That’s the best type! Fun/scary! Woop woop!!! 62K! YOU’RE A NOVELIST!!!

    Okay! THANK YOU! I will ASAP! Your awessome, Kate!!!

    Like

  8. Kate Marie says:

    Don’t worry, then! I used to do the same thing because my writing can be embarrassing??? But I hath learned the error of mine ways and save everything now, no matter how much I hate it. 🙂

    Your words are inspiring, dear!

    I am rather awesome, aren’t I??? (Just kidding!!!!)

    Like

  9. smudgedthoughts says:

    Haha, trust me, I’m trying to run as far as possible away from mine!! (It is currently not working….)

    Haha! Oh dear, I can totally relate to that… Editing is my least favorite part of writing… I go mental. Completely and utterly mental.

    Like

  10. smudgedthoughts says:

    Alas, there is naught anyone can do…

    Lol, I’m actually starting to pick up where I left off with it, so it’s starting to come back together, thankfully!!

    I am so jealous!! I would love to like editing, haha! And oh yes, we most definitely are!

    Like

Leave a Reply

