I Owe It All To…

I am not a sentimental person.

So I don’t do inspirational, holiday-themed posts.

I just don’t.

That said, I’ve come a long way, and I think it’s important to recognize that I haven’t gotten this far on my own.

This post is vaguely thankful. So I’m posting it on Thanksgiving Day.

As I said, I don’t normally do this. But I’ve been wanting to write this post for awhile… And it conveniently happened that Thanksgiving was coming up.

So. Now that I have appropriately justified this post…

I Owe It All To…

1. My dad…

Image result for pirates of the caribbean you're despicable gif

For reading to me, even when you Β tired after coming home from work and we had read the book a million times before. You ignited my passion for stories at an early age.

I owe it all to you.

2. Charlotte’s Web…

For showing me that reading could be fun, if difficult – at first, anyway.

I owe it all to you.
3. My big brother David…

For giving me books that were way out of my league and thinking that I could handle them because you thought I was smart.

I owe it all to you.

4. Ted Dekker…

For being my first obsession. I couldn’t get enough of your terrifying, mind-bending books, some of which are still favorites.

I owe it all to you.

5. My big brother David…

For accidentally finding my story on the family computer and helping me realize that what I was doing was unusual. The look on your face when you realized I wrote it… I’ve never been so proud.

I owe it all to you.
6. My little brother Timothy…

For laughing at my first attempts so that I felt like the world’s greatest comedian.

I owe it all to you.

7. Tolkien…

Image result for the princess bride gifs

For being an absolute genius. You are my inspiration. If I write anything even half as amazing as you did, I would be the happiest girl alive.

I owe it all to you.

8. Annette…

For coming up with the idea that I should have a blog in the first place! Clearly, I would not be here if it weren’t for you.

I owe it all to you.

9. My little brother Timothy…

For always just going with it – even when I use you as a sounding board and ask you the most absurd questions and you have no idea what I’m talking about. Like why I would want to know how best to annihilate an entire race of people.

I owe it all to you.

10. My big brother David…

For asking me to write scripts and movie scenes for him – as if I was good enough! One day we’ll be famous. I promise.

I owe it all to you.
11. My new sister Erin…

For aiding and abetting my reading habit with Barnes And Noble gift cards and loans from her extensive library. Finally, someone who understands!

I owe it all to you.

12. The wonderful blogging community…

For welcoming me with open arms.

Anna was one of my first followers at my new digs.

Miss March and I have so much in common and love to have long discussions about it.

Cait took notice of a little youngster – me – even though she’s practically famous.

I owe it all to you.

13. The library…

For cheaply feeding my passion. I couldn’t have done it without you, my friend.

I owe it all to you.
14. Blogger…

For getting me started.

I owe it all to you.

15. WordPress…

For getting me going.

I owe it all to you.

16. Sweet librarians…

For recommending books… that I didn’t end up liking, but, hey, you tried.

17. Books…

For teaching me how to write. I never had a better teacher!

I owe it all to you.

18. My cousin and penpal…

For putting up with my voluminous letters – and occasionally writing back!

You have been there, every step of the way – not only in my writing journey, but in my life journey as well. I love you.

I owe it all to you.

19. My extended family…

For believing in me.

I owe it all to you.

20. My followers…

Image result for the princess bride gifs

 

 

 

 

For the same reason.

I owe it all to you.

When did your writing journey begin? Who are you thankful for? Who has influenced you the most? To whom to you owe it all? Do you eat turkey or ham on Thanksgiving? Do you watch football?

 

15 thoughts on “I Owe It All To…”

  1. *queue inspirational music* My writing journey began at a young age…

    Which technically means I’ve been writing (or rather, trying to) for so long I’ve gone and forgotten when I started. Great times.

    But! My writing journey really kickstarted with my first ever written novel, The Dragon Elements, which absolutely, positively stunk. However, it was my first real plunge into the writing world, and my first ever finished piece, so to this day it is still very near my heart….

    I am thankful for so many people it would be impossible to answer that question without making my own post, haha! My greatest inspiration is God, but of the human races, my family has been my biggest supporters for as long as I can remember. I owe it all to them. They are truly amazing.

    Turkey!!!!

    Yes, but I prefer the dog show, and I love the parade!!!!

    Oh my word, I love this post! You are such an awesome blogger, haha! Keep up the amazing work!!!!

    Like

    1. Bahaha! Well! Good for you for actually finishing something! That was more than I could boast until a couple of weeks ago!

      Do it! Write your own post!

      Ha! “Of the human races” – I like that. πŸ˜‰ Yes, family is everything…

      Can I tell you a secret??? I have never watched the parade or the dog show. Don’t tell anyone!

      Thanks, Kenzie!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Haha, I know, right? To this day, it’s the only novel I’ve ever completed. I’ve also written a short story, and a novella, but other than that…unfinished projects galore. I even have a briefcase filled with them.

        Seriously. I have a briefcase filled with my failure.

        #happythoughts

        OH MY GOODNESS!!! The parade is AMAZING! Well, technically everyone lipsyncs, so there’s no real singing, and sometimes the floats are just plain weird, but IT IS TRADITION AND THEREFORE I WATCH IT WITH PRIDE! You should totally watch though! Santa Claus even appears at the end!!!!! (This year they even had Colonel Sanders…)

        Like

        1. C’mon! LET’S BE POSITIVE!

          It’s not a briefcase of FAILURE! It’s a briefcase of POSSIBILITY!

          Gosh, this positivity stuff is exhausting…

          I fail at tradition, apparently. I haven’t watched most of the Christmas classics, either…

          Liked by 1 person

                1. Good to know…

                  I definitely need to watch them at some point for closure. πŸ˜‰

                  I also noticed it’s only the ANIMATED classics I haven’t seen??? I think I’ve watched most of the old live-action ones (and love them, ohmygoodness).

                  There are probably more animated classics I forgot, as well???

                  Liked by 1 person

                  1. Ooh.. I’m not sure… The only classics that I really know about (or rather, the only ones I bother watching, haha!) are Rudolph, Frosty, and Charlie Brown. There are also the more Charlie Brown style Santa Claus stories, such as The Year Without a Santa Claus, which was actually quite disappointing, because I thought Mrs. Claus was going to take the place of Santa, but no. They go on some random adventure instead. And then there’s also the one where Santa wants to “give every child in the world a toy”, and magically ends up on some elf-infested island.

                    I’m not a huge fan of those, but The Year Without A Santa Claus had these two brothers, Snow Miser and Heat Miser, and their songs are SO BIZARRE OH MY WORD!!!

                    Like

  2. Oh, it’s wonderful to have a dad who likes to read, isn’t it? My dad read SO much to us growing up. He has the BEST read-aloud voice EVER (in my humble opinion. Heehee).

    Aw, I love that bit about your brother finding your story–and making you feel so proud! That’s awesome! πŸ™‚ Sounds like your brothers are very supportive of your writing. πŸ™‚

    YOU MENTIONED ME!! Awww. That was so sweet of you. And yes, we really do like having our long discussions, don’t we? Love it!! πŸ˜€

    This was a darling post, Kate! And now I’m going to answer all those questions you were so good as to ask us. πŸ˜‰

    1. I don’t know exactly. I think I’ve always wanted to write books, but I’m so laid back about it sometimes I don’t know if I’m really on a “writing journey” or not. (If that makes sense.)
    2. My mom, my dad, my siblings, my brother-in-law, my sister-in-law, my nephew…basically my family! Their awesome! ;D
    3. My parents. I’d be a very different person indeed if it weren’t for them. (Actually, I wouldn’t even be here if it weren’t for them…but I digress. ;))
    4. “To whom do you owe it all?” To God, definitely. I’m nothing without Him. Also to my family. And with regards to blogging, all the wonderful people who have encouraged me and kept me going. Thanks for being one of them, Kate! πŸ™‚
    5. Turkey.
    6. Not if I can help it. πŸ˜› Heehee.

    There. I think that about does it. πŸ˜‰ Happy Thanksgiving, my friend!

    Like

    1. The best! Dads are good like that. πŸ˜‰

      Seriously. Proudest moment. Of. My. Life.

      Well… two of them anyway! I confided most in my little brother, because he couldn’t judge me. πŸ˜‰ Otherwise, I ewas super private. If it hadn’t been for my older brother stumbling across my baby-story, I never would have told him about it!

      Your friendship means a lot to me! Actually, you remind me a lot of my cousin/penpal… Both of you tend to be the “tame to my wild.” πŸ˜‰

      1. Oh, I’m sure you are! You just don’t know it yet!

      2. Yes. FAMILY IS EVERYTHING.

      3. Ha! Very true!

      4. We all owe everything to God… whether we are willing to recognize of or not.

      5. Huh. Nobody has said mashed potatoes or apple pie yet! Whut is this???

      6. AMEN TO THAT!

      You, too, dear!

      Like

Leave a Reply

