The NaNo Diaries: My Beauty

Recently I wrote a post in which I said, “So it begins” and told you all the things I was dreading about NaNo.

That was the first installment of what I plan to call The NaNo Diaries. Sounds epic, doesn’t it? 

Thank you. You are too kind.

As much as I would love to post about NaNo each and every day, that is simply going to be impossible. To be perfectly honest with you, posting at all during the month November feels impossible.

But for your sakes…

Well, suffice it to say I hope to post at least a of couple of these brilliant posts, because I love you all so much and would do many a harder thing for you.

Feel free to pause and let your heart melt just a little bit.

Moving on. This edition of The NaNo Diaries is going to be a linkup with my friends Cait and Sky to give you a bit of an update on how things are going.

And so, without further ado,The Glorious Questions, as Cait likes to call them…

Overall, how is your mental state, and how is your novel going?

I’m doing fine.

The amount of writing isn’t that hard, though I do feel like I’m under a lot of pressure. School obviously has to come first, so I am admittedly jittery until I meet my quota each day. And  relieved when I meet it… And then I start all over the next day.

And I have begun dreaming about writing, so that’s… interesting.

How is my novel going? I feel like the least-qualified person to be answering that question, sir.

It’s certainly not going the way I expected, that’s for sure.

What’s your first sentence (or paragraph)?

Mkali ran through the woods at a breakneck pace, panting for breath.

Well, don’t that sound exciting!

Who’s your current favourite character in your novel?

Makovu, all the way. But don’t tell him I said that.

What do you love about your novel so far?

The dialogue.

To be honest with you, dialogue scares me. I used to call it my weakness, but then I realized that wasn’t quite true.

It’s my fear.

Because when my characters start talking… it’s like I’m not in control anymore. They are.

They say what they want to say and there’s nothing I can do about it. Conversations take crazy turns and suddenly things aren’t going in the direction I planned at all.

So it’s scary. But fun. Definitely fun.

Have you made any hilarious typos or other mistakes?

I left the l out of plunked.

Punked. Sounds hipster, don’t you think?

I misspell my main character’s name regularly, which is slightly embarassing.

I have begun using the words write and right interchangeably.

And I just tried to write “lullaby” with four l‘s.

What is your favourite to write: beginning, middle, or end — and why?

Middle, I think.

Though I loved the beginning. And I’m excited about the end.

But the middle largely consists of Makovu being nasty and I adore him.

What are your writing habits? Is there a specific snack you eat? Do you listen to music? What time of day do you write best? Feel free to show us a picture of your writing space!

I occasionally listen to music on my tablet, but if I know the song and it has lyrics, I have a bad habit of doing more lip-syncing than writing. 

Instrumental music solves that problem, but not the one about how I like to dance.

Finally, I resort to Josh Groban singing in Portuguese, Italian, or French. Though I have actually memorized some of those, too, even though I have no idea what I’m saying…

I can’t write early in the day because of school, so I am forced to write almost exclusively during the evenings.

How private are you about your novel while you’re writing? Do you need a cheer squad or do you work alone (like, ahem, Batman)?

I gave my mother a heads-up about it so she would be less likely to wonder what all his writing was for and I occasionally update my little brother on how things are going.

Other than that, I don’t talk about it.

I am a lonely soul. I will not accept hugs, but chocolate is always appreciated.

What keeps you writing even when it’s hard?

I told myself I would do this; I will do it.

That’s just who I am, folks.

I finish what I start.

What are your top 3 pieces of writing advice?

Have fun. Why else do people write, anyway?

Try not to think about anything that doesn’t have to do with putting the next words on the page.

Eat chocolate whenever possible.

I know, I know. My brilliance knows no bounds.

As always, a big thank you to the lovely ladies for hosting and the genius who comes up with the questions! If you don’t  the link to your Beautiful Books, I will hunt you down and murder you in your sleep… Also tell me how NaNo is going for you and who your favorite character is so far and what your secret weapon is and what you’re eating and listening to during NaNo!

12 thoughts on “The NaNo Diaries: My Beauty”

  1. I pretty much relate to all of this during my NaNo nightmare… My characters never listen, and I’ve had about 10 plot turns in the past two hours…. Definitely one of the most interesting things about writing because you never know if your story is going to turn out the way you planned. So yeah, I have about five new things I need to incorporate into my overall story plot…
    Anyway. My favorite character probably SHOULD be my main character, but…. IT’S NOT!! I know, that’s sad… but my fav. character is probably either one of my side characters or a different side characters. They’re both super cool and annoying…and really in your face, not backing down kinda characters… ❤ I love them so much…
    I eat random things during NaNo… I usually like cheese… and more cheese… and chocolate. The bad thing about that is that I'm just stress eating and so my thought process slows down because I fill up with junk food that doesn't promote brain activity… Oh well! Chocolate rocks! ❤
    I mostly listen to filmscores because if I'm listening to lyrical music, I will start to sing along… That's just me. I can't help myself. If you put duck tape over my mouth, I would still sing at the top of my lungs. Somehow…
    Anyway, thanks for posting and thank you for reading this ridiculously long comment about my crazy NaNo week 😉

    Like

    1. Gah, ME TOO!!!

      I keep learning NEW AND RANDOM pieces of information about my characters! Like apparently my villain has a pack of greyhounds AND HE DIDNT BOTHER TO TELL MEEEE???? (What ids WRONG with you, villain? WHY YOU SO BAD???)

      Oooh! CHEESE IS GOOD! I ALSO LIKE CHEESE…

      YAS CHOCOLATE IS AWESOME!!!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Ahh this is the best! And I admit I laughed at lullaby with four Ls. 😂 THAT SOUNDS LIKE SOMETHING I WOULD DO. My typos are horrendous because Scrivener has autocorrect, so it spends 87% of my writing time going “oh I’m SURE you didn’t want that word!” and changing it completely and least to say: arghgghgh. I can’t spell any of my characters names.😂 Not even Jeremy. Apparently I kept spelling it Jeremey?? BECAUSE I DON’T KNOW. And I call myself a writer, sheesh.
    hehe.
    Anyway, I really admire you for doing NaNo AND school. That is a huge undertaking and yOU ARE AMAZING. SO JUST REMEMBER THAT. And I hope you continue having a good time with that dialogue. Dialogue is my favourite part. 😊
    Thanks for joining in the linkup!

    Like

    1. Well… I’m writing this beast BY HAND??? So no autocorrect issues except that I do this weird thing where my brain gets ahead of my pen and so I insert letters from an UPCOMING word INTO the word I’m CURRENTLY WRITING??? It is very weird and I need a NAME for it because that would make me feel better. It’s like dyslexia… BUT NOT??? Writerly dyslexia…

      Thanks so much, Cait! Love you, girl!

      P. S. YOU’RE DIALOGUE IS AWESOME!

      Like

  3. I think dreaming about writing must be a new level of master status. You’d expect a power-up or something to come with it. Have you started being able to manifest characters as aural forms yet or is that the next step? But when characters get nasty, it can be SO FUN I KNOW. (Not sure what that says about me.) And I have to agree that tribute in chocolate is always acceptable. 😉

    http://www.inkspelledfaery.com/2016/11/05/beautiful-books-2016-novel-update/

    Like

  4. This warms my soul! It’s THE BEST when your characters take on a mind of their own. I inserred an entirely unplanned scene and afterward I was like … did I just write that or did it ACTUALLY HAPPEN BECAUSE VIVID OMG. I didn’t even feel like I was writing and then it turned out to be 1k 🙊

    Like

  5. Ah yes! Those typos. Really though, write and right? WHO CREATED ENGLISH IN THE FIRST PLACE? There are so many ways to get confused while writing. It’s no wonder we can even communicate sometimes. 😉

    Like

Leave a Reply

