The 12 Best Quotes of Anne of Green Gables

I first met Anne through an audio dramatization.

I have never been a fan of audiobooks, but audio dramatizations, when done well, can be a great way to expose yourself to literature. I was introduced to many of my now-favorites that way.

I must’ve listened to Anne of Green Gables a dozen times or more.

So it was nostalgic to finally read the book for the first time, many years later. By that time, I had seen the film trilogy as well.

Anne of Green Gables now represents a little piece of my childhood and I enjoy reading it now, as a teenager, as much as I did then, as a little girl.

Here are some of my favorite moments from the book.

Image result for anne of green gables movie

1. “It’s so easy to be wicked without knowing, isn’t it?”

It is, Anne. It is.

2. “But if you have big ideas you have to use big words to express them, haven’t you?”

This was definitely my persuasion when I was five.

I do find it interesting that later on in the book Anne realizes the value of using short, easy-to-understand words.

3. “But the worst of imagining things is that the time comes when you have to stop and that hurts.”

Most of my favorite quotes from Anne of Green Gables are my favorites because they are amusing, but this one makes me sad.

I have a hard time accepting change. Accepting that children have to grow up and that one day we have to wake up and face the real world, that dreams don’t always come true and one of these days, we’ll have to stop pretending.

For me, that’s what this quote is about.

4. “But I’d rather look ridiculous when everybody else does than plain and sensible all by myself.”

 I love Anne’s unique way of coming right out and saying things the way they are. The funniest part is that she’s speaking in defense of trying to fit in, and yet, when she puts it that way, it sounds so utterly foolish.

I mean, don’t we all do this?

I certainly do. I just don’t articulate it – and if I did, I would try to make it sound justifiable. Anne doesn’t even attempt to justify it.

5. “She doesn’t know what to do with the people so she kills them to get rid of them.”

No, Diana does not murder anyone!

Except characters in stories.

I think my favorite part of this quote is that I’ve read books where this actually happens. I used to think that killing off one of your characters must be the hardest thing an author can do. Then I realized that killing your characters can be a way out. An easy way out.

6. “Reading stories is bad enough but writing them is worse.”


Obviously, I strongly disagree, because I do both.

Voraciously.

Voluminously.

I just love this quote because I couldn’t stop thinking, if Marilla was disgusted with Anne’s reading and writing habits, how much more disgusted she would be with me!

7. “If I was wicked, I meant to be wicked to some purpose.”

Can we just make this the worldwide mantra for villains everywhere? Please?

8. “The things you wanted so much when you were  a child don’t seem half so wonderful to you when you get them.”

I think, in some ways, that the “wanting” is the best part.

On the other hand, we can spend so much of our lives chase after something we think we want, only to realize that we aren’t satisfied when we get it.

It almost seems as if people are wired so that we aren’t truly happy without a goal to aim for.

9. “Young men are all very well in their place, but it doesn’t do to drag them into everything, does it?”

I know a few authors who could use to hear this message…


10. “I like people who make me love them. It saves me so much trouble making myself love them.”

Agreed.

Small children are particularly gifted at this.

11. “Next to trying and winning, the best thing is trying and failing.”

Well, that’s one way to look at it!

We think there is such a huge gulf between winning and losing, but Anne has a point here. Failing is the closest anyone can get to winning.

12. “I don’t know what lies around the bend, but I’m going to believe the best does.”

As a bit of a pessimist myself, this way of thinking is so foreign to me. But I think it’s a good way to live your life.

It’s not as if we can change the outcome by knowing it could be bad.

Have you read Anne of Green Gables? What are some of your favorite quotes? Have you seen the movies? Do you think Megan Follows does a good job of portraying Anne? Which movie is your favorite? Have you read all eight books? Which is your favorite? Which is better – the books or the movies?

In other news… I have not yet finished writing my first Character Interview featuring both Makovu and Endelyn – which means you can still submit questions!

14 thoughts on “The 12 Best Quotes of Anne of Green Gables”

  1. Oh that’s so hard…. Probably the first one and Rainbow Valley is good too….. All of them are little treasures so it’s SO hard to try to name a favorite because Anne is a fictional version of my secret self… LOL

    Like

  2. I love all of these quotes!! ❤
    Anne of Green Gables is an ultimate favorite of mine. Anne (SPELLED WITH AN E) always makes me crack up…or cry. Depends on my mood. LOL
    Which book is your favorite?

    Like

  3. YOU NOTICED!!! Yes, I have decided to start going by “Kate,” but I promise not to rudely ignore you if you forget! 🙂 It’s funny, because “Kate” is not how the name “Kayla” is usually shortened – “Kay” would be much more logical – but family members have been calling me that since I was little. Anyway, I decided it was time for a change. 🙂

    I think I liked Rainbow Valley better than most of the others??? It has been a LOOONG time!

    Haha, didn’t she,though??? Megan Follows is such a gifted actor! 🙂

    Yes, this topic does strike me as familiar… (Wonder why that is?)

    Like

  4. Wow. So many good quotes!! Thanks for sharing, Kayla. (Or is it “Kate” now? ;)) I like how you added your thoughts after every quote, too. No.4–haha! Yeah, it is funny how she doesn’t even try to justify it. So what if everyone else looks ridiculous, she’ll be ridiculous, too, then. 😀

    I’ve read all the books except Rainbow Valley. And, yes I think Megan Follows did an excellent job portraying Anne. I really like the movies. (The first one especially…oh, but we’ve talked about this already, haven’t we? ;))

    Like

  5. Ha! Well. That was helpful. (But, honestly, I understand the feeling!)

    I know, right??? What IS the plural form of “series”??? Ack!

    Anyway – I have just added those to my (scarily long) list of books to read. I have actually had Thes Blue Castle recommended to me before by someone (I don’t seem to remember who… Probably robots of some kind???), so it must be really good!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. All of them. 😛

    Well, Emily of New Moon and Pat of Silver Bush (two different series-es-es-what-ever-the-plural-is) are both sort of following the MC from being a kid to growing up (like LMM did with Anne) and I liked them both a lot. I also really enjoyed The Blue Castle, but it’s pretty different than her other books.

    Like

  7. Ha! Yeah, that was cute. 🙂

    The first one (and actually the last two, too – Rilla of Ingleside and Rainbow something… I can’t remember… It’s been awhile!) is definitely my favorite. The others didn’t stick so much, unfortunately.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Yeah she keeps writing these letters with her favorite pen, and shes calls him “dearest” and I find it really funny but cute at the same time! I really am liking it so far, and I don’t think I could choose a favorite they are all good in their own unique ways! ~Julia ❤

    Like

  9. Is that the one where very time you think you’re going to finally hear about Gilbert, Anne is like, “I like this pen so I’m going to write a love letter” and then the whole thing gets skipped because APPARENTLY they were really explicit???

    How are you liking it? Which is your favorite book so far?

    (Sorry for pounding you with questions there!!! *waves pleasantly* Hi!!!)

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

