Top Ten Movies Countdown

As many of you know, movies are not as much my thing as books.

That said, I do try.

My movie-watching is limited – but, in my defense, I am interested in movies and have compiled a whole list of movies I want to watch for various reasons.

However, the movies I do watch, I have watched many, many times. Which means that I can parrot large portions of it on command, tell you all sorts of things you didn’t even want to know about it, and have basically dissected the poor movie within an inch of its life.

For some movies this means I grow to hate them more with each viewing. For others, it means my love for them grows deeper daily.

Today I want to talk about the second group. Because I know you must be wildly curious.

 

Image result for pride and prejudice 2005
10. Pride and Prejudice (2005)

The attention to detail, superb casting, and breathtaking music make this movie one of my favorites, not to mention being a bit of a private obsession – I watch it every time I get a chance.

This movie never gets old.

So why is it in last place, you ask?

I may or may not be just slightly embarrassed to call such a cliched chick flick my favorite movie.

Because obviously I have more class than that.

 Image result for the desolation of smaug
9. The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug

Admittedly my least favorite of all the Lord of the Rings and Hobbit movies, The Desolation of Smaug is essentially three hours of fire and heat and boredom.

I have also had a terrible cough every single time I’ve watched it so far, so that didn’t do much to improve my opinion of it.

 

Image result for the battle of the five armies bilbo returns home
8. The Battle of the Five Armies

Combine the superb acting of Martin Freeman, Richard Armitage, and Lee Pace, and breathtaking animation that makes this whole movie look like a watercolor painting come to life and you have The Battle of the Five Armies.

 

Image result for an unexpected journey
7. An Unexpected Journey

This absolutely delightful first chapter in the Hobbit trilogy is as good as any of its Lord of the Rings predecessors.

Martin Freeman was born to be Bilbo, I firmly believe, and though a rather too-large portion of the movie is spent running away from orcs, I love it just the same.

Image result for the return of the king sam and frodo
6. The Return of the King

All three of the movies that make up the Lord of the Rings trilogy are nothing short of classic, but The Return of the King, for me, is somewhat exhausting. Watching Frodo and Sam toil toward Mount Doom at such a painstakingly slow crawl is torture and the battle scenes are starting to blur together.

Don’t get me wrong. I love this movie. Always have. Always will.

It just, sadly, isn’t the best in the trilogy.

Image result for the two towers aragorn legolas and gimli
5. The Two Towers

Many people consider The Two Towers the best movie in the original trilogy and I can see why.

Eowyn, a favorite character, is introduced, Gollum becomes a major character, and the battle of Helm’s Deep is about as epic as anyone could wish.

Image result for the fellowship of the ring the fellowship silhouettes
4. The Fellowship of the Ring

Call me boring, but I like this one the best. I love seeing the Fellowship whole and together. I love the Shire. Aragorn’s introduction is all that could be desired. Frodo’s pain at losing Gandalf is heartrending. It breaks my heart every time to see him slowly lose faith in the other members of the Fellowship.

The Return of the King is all about Frodo and Sam creeping closer to Mordor.

The highlight of The Two Towers is Eowyn and the Helm’s Deep battle.

I like the variety of The Fellowship of the Ring. It’s about the Shire and Frodo, Gandalf, the Fellowship, Aragorn, Boromir, and friendship.

 

Image result for little women 1994

3. Little Women (1994)

One of my favorite books, this movie comes the closest to doing it justice.

It has its flaws, but it captures Jo’s restlessness and Marmee’s passion, Meg’s romance and Amy’s childishness, it accurately portrays Jo and Laurie’s friendship and the closeness of the sisters and the happiness and beauty of family. In my book, that’s all that matters.

Image result for amazing grace billy and wilber too young to know
2. Amazing Grace

This breathtaking movie about William Wilberforce’s passion to abolish slavery is one of the best movies I have ever had the pleasure of watching.

Not only is the filming and casting fantastic, but this movie means something. It is not purely entertainment. It has the potential to change lives.

 

Image result for finding neverland film jim and peter
1. Finding Neverland

Best. Movie. Ever.

The end.

Have you watched any of the movies on my list? What’s your favorite movie? Why?

22 thoughts on “Top Ten Movies Countdown”

  1. Keira Knightley is certainly a very gifted actress (that wince/grimace/smirk thing she does…!)… I just haven’t liked most of her characters??? I probably like Lizzy from Pride and Prejudice the best…

    Oh, you have to! Cumberbatch is awesome, is he not???

    Like

  2. I’ve seen most of these and I love the Hobbit and LOTR plus Pride and Prejudice. KK (don’t know how to spell her name so I’m just going with acronyms LOL) is one of my fav. actresses…
    I’ve never seen Amazing Grace, but I’ve heard of it and OH MY WORD IS THAT BENEDICT CUMBERBATCH??!! If he’s in it, I wanna watch it LOL
    Thanks for sharing! ❤

    Like

  3. But the sad movies are the best, ARE THEY NOT???

    Aghahaha!!! I don’t have Netflix so I kind of CAN’T be into TV series (I WISH I COULD!!!)??? Drives me crazy, hearing asbout all these awesomes shows I am missing out on!!!

    The oinoy shows I have ever watched are Person Of Interest and LOST (both after they aired on television).

    Agh, I want to watch Downtown Abbey so much!!!

    Like

  4. YAAAAAAAS AMAZING GRACE AND PRIDE AND PREJUDICE those two right there are some of my favorite movies of alllll time. ❤ I also love Little Women and Finding Neverland but THEY BOTH MAKE ME SAD so y'know… ahem. (I'm a pathetic little shrimp of damaged feels.) idk if you're into TV series but BBC's new version of Poldark is INCREDIBLE. I'll admit I am entirely obsessed with that show. :''') ALSO DOWNTON ABBEY OF COURSE. And Mr. Selfridge is brilliant too. SO MANY GOOD BRITISH DRAMAS okay I'll shut up now.

    Like

  5. Agh!!! Finally someone who understands meeee!

    Yes, yes, and YES.

    I know many folk who like The Two Towers the best, so you definitely not alone in your opinion, there. It’s a hard fight between the three, honestly. There are so many moments I love in all three…

    I like seeing the fellowship interact in the first, as well as the hominess of the Shire and seeing Frodo whole and happy.

    In the second movie there’s MUCHLY WAR and Eowyn and Gollum/Smeagol and Aragorn kicking butt.

    And in the third one there is sadness and depression and Pippin being ADORABLE AS HECK.

    Gah, I could go on for days…

    Anyway! I ultimately choose the first one for much the same reason you said you like the first Hobbit movie: the charm. 🙂

    DON’T GET ME STARTED ON THE ACTORS!!!

    Ohmygoodness, YOU MUST WATCH IT! Seriously. Best movie ever, I swear. You will not be disappointed. 😉

    Like

  6. The 2005 Pride & Prejudice is the best! It’s one of my go-to movies too. 🙂 It’s a gorgeous movie all around.

    Little Women is another favorite. I do like how it captures the spirit of the book and kept most of the major moments too. And Amazing Grace! That movie needs more attention. It’s SO good.

    The Two Towers is my favorite LOTR (I think this has a lot to do with it being the first I got to see in theaters plus it featured Rohan which is one of my favorite places in Middle-earth!), but all three are wonderful. Fellowship of the Ring would be my next favorite, and then Return of the King. With the Hobbit movies, their ranked in chronological order on my favorites list! I loved how much AUJ captured the book, and it had a certain charm that the other two sometimes lacked. (But the actors were wonderful in all of them and I cried at least twice during BOTFA in the theater.)

    Finding Neverland is the only movie on this list I haven’t seen. I’ve heard so many good things though that I really should check it out one day. 🙂

    Like

  7. Amazing Grace is THE BEST!!! I LOVE that movie!! And you’re so right. It’s much more than entertainment. It totally has “potential to change lives.” (I love how you put that, by the way!) 😀

    I’ve seen all the other movies on this list except Finding Neverland. I guess I need to watch that one sometime? 🙂

    Like

  8. Well…*blushes* Alright, fine. I’ll give you a brief description. Brown hair; dark eyes; strong; reserved personality; tough, yet vulnerable; typically has some sort of painful past; slightly arrogant on the outside; cares about people but doesn’t often admit it; etc. That’s my type of guy. *sighs dreamily* 😉

    Like

  9. I have a very particular kind of guy that I love in fiction, so I don’t see one too often. Bucky would be one of them though. 🙂 I know… Tis, so sad that they don’t exist! 😥

    Like

  10. Haha, that’s exactly how I feel when people start talking about the popular movies, (a.k.a. hunger games, divergent, etc.) which I never watch! 😛
    Oh, let me tell you that he is incredibly so much better in Civil War. If you liked him in Winter Soldier, you will fall in love with him! (or at least I did! 😛 )

    Like

  11. GAH, I AM SUCH A BACKWARD LITTLE BEAN!!! I think everyone in the world has seen these movies and I am living my life in a dark little corner moaning and rocking and crying pitifully, “But I don’t have tiiime! Where is THE TIME???”

    P. S. YEEESSSS, BUCKY!!! I liked him when he was the bad dude in Winter Soldier! Muhahahaha!

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Yes, that’s it. Definitely twins! 😉
    Oh my goodness! You have to watch it! Tis the best marvel movie of them all by far!! Haha, yes he is certainly is. Though Bucky in Civil War is 10x better, in my humble opinion! 😉 Spiderman and Antman are also incredible!

    Like

  13. AMEN. Finding Neverland and is MY LIFE!!!

    BENEDICT CUMBERBATCH!!! I’m actually quite proud of myself that I found him before the rest of the world did?

    Speaking of difficult names! Ioan??? SERIOUSLY??? Don’t even ask me how you say THAT! #Disaster

    I’m calling him Gruffard, yes? Much better. I’ve never seen GRUFFARD in anything besides Amazing Grace, so… the “Hornblower” reference was kinda lost on me?

    I’m a peer-pressured movie-watcher, tbh. My brothers don’t read asnd are into movies, so… I try to fit in! 🙂

    Like

  14. ACTUALLY I DID. I READ YOUR MIND. (Because I can totally do that. I’m fun that way.)

    Clearly we are twins??? Probably got switched at birth or something. Sheesh! Those nurses need to get a handle on things…

    Regrettably I have never watched Captain America: Civil War? But my little brother loved it. 🙂 The only CA I have seen is Winter Soldier (weird of me to skip the first one, I know. I’m blaming my brothers). Cap is the adorablest thing, is he not???

    Like

  15. Okay, Kayla, did you just read my mind?!?! Except for #1, which I’ve regrettably never seen, every single one of those is on my top 10 too!! Amazing Grace would be my definite #1! I absolutely LOVE AMAZING GRACE!! And Captain America: Civil War would be somewhere in there near the top of the list, too! 😀

    Like

  16. I LOVE FINDING NEVERLAND. It nearly made me cry. ❤ And omg I love Amazing Grace but is that Benedict Cumberbatch in it?!? I never noticed.😂 Which just shows how long ago I watched it because the internet hadn't even introduced me to Sherlock haha. (And I'm going to be soooo digging a hole if that's NOT him. But it looks like him.) Also Ioan Gruffard is amazing. 😍 Especially as Hornblower.

    I honestly barely ever watch movies…I'd rather be reading. BUT I LOVE THE IRON MAN MOVIES LIKE NOTHING ELSE.

    Like

Leave a Reply

