My Second Ever Tag

Miss March and I have become friends over the past couple of months and I am beyond flattered that she tagged me for the Blogger Recognition Tag – thank you, dear!

Actually, the blog was never my idea.

My preference for writing showed up early in life, so, yes, I had been dabbling in the dangerous waters of writerliness for a while, but my presence in social media – and even in cyberspace itself – was nonexistent at best.

Sure, I knew what a blog was, but it seemed like something that had nothing to do with me. I wanted to be an author. Of books.

So clearly a blog would be pointless. Right?

Maybe not.

A friend, Annette, was the one who first suggested it to my parents, who passed along the idea to me.

I will admit to be immediately enthralled with the idea.

It meant writing, did it not?

And I thought it would be easy. Ha.

Little did I know of the horrors, the blood, sweat, and tears, that are required of a blogger such as I.

Just kidding. Kind of.

And now for my advice. Brace yourself for profundity, peeps.

Your Opinion Is Important

This is something I struggled with at the beginning of my blogging career.

I had been focusing on book reviews and suddenly it hit me – a million people had already reviewed this book; why should anyone read my review? What was the point in simply adding to the noise?

It took me a while to realize the truth…

My opinion was important. No one else could write the same review that I could, no one else had ever had the exact same opinion as I had, and no one could write is just the way that I would.

So even if you begin to feel like you are saying things that have been said before, don’t feel for one second like nobody wants to know.

Your take is important because it’s yours. No one could do it the way you will.

Get To Know People

Imagine this bit of advice coming from me, the self-proclaimed introvert. But have no fear.

I don’t want you to get to know actual humans from real life.

Because that, of course, is scary.

No, no, no. I want you to talk to the faceless entities that populate the dark world called the internet. Not scary at all.

But let’s be serious.

I didn’t realize that this was a big deal. I thought I could go it alone.

Ya can’t do that, folks.

There is a lot of advice about blogging out there, but the advice that has by far served me the best was to get to know other people.

They call it “networking.” Sounds innocent enough, right?

The point is that you need readers. And the way to get readers is to talk to other bloggers. Read their blogs. Leave coherent comments. Find a group of bloggers with interests that are similar to yours and join in. Blogging is all about community.

I never got much of anywhere until I embraced that – now I finally feel like I’m getting somewhere.

And, oh my goodness, I have to tag fifteen people?

My brain did not ask for this.

Okay.

I tag…

Victoria at Wanderer’s Pen

Cait at Paper Fury

Tracey at Adventure Awaits

Christine at Musings of an Elf

Jameson at Lovely Whatsoevers

Anna at Swords and Quills

Lydia at Through the Wardrobe

Olivia at Meanwhile, In Rivendell

Abbiee at, um, Abbiee?

I literally don’t know any more blogging humans than that. I apologize.

If you want to steal this tag, feel absolutely free to do so! As always, just follow the rules – thank the person who tagged you – that would be me – tell us a little about how you got started blogging, give two pieces of advice for new bloggers and leave a comment below with the link to your post because I am nosy.

 

14 thoughts on “My Second Ever Tag

  1. Tracey says:

    Oooh, another tag? Thank you, Kayla! (I’m accumulating a tidy little pile of tags…much like a squirrel collecting nuts for the winter, I have the feeling these will help keep my blog afloat during the busier college months. XD)

    It’s so fascinating to see how other bloggers got their start! Funny how it was never your idea in the beginning. I’m glad you’re meeting people and finding your footing in the blogging world!

    Like

  2. Kate Marie says:

    Haha, yeah! Sorry!!! πŸ™‚ I feel like I’m inundating people with tags and being a nuisance, but it said I had to tag FIFTEEN PEOPLE, so I had to basically tag ALL THE BLOGGERS I KNOW. πŸ™‚

    Thank you! It’s been a fun journey!

    Like

  3. Anna R. says:

    Yay! You tagged me! Thank you so much!! I love tags ever so much! πŸ™‚
    It is very encouraging to be reminded of your second bit of advice. Sometimes I find myself wondering if any of it really matters, but I like what you said about it still being important just because it is You and no one else can do it like you. Very encouraging! Thank you!
    Ha, I don’t even think that I know that many bloggers. πŸ˜›

    Like

  4. Miss March says:

    Awesome post, Kayla! You have a wonderful way of writing. It flows together so smoothly. πŸ™‚

    I totally understand what you mean about reviewing books/movies that have already been reviewed multiple times by other people. I’ve felt the same way myself, why “add to the noise”? And yet, you’re right. Every review is different because every person has a slightly different take on things. And it really is worth it for you to write your thoughts and bring your perspective to the table.

    “No, no, no. I want you to talk to the faceless entities that populate the dark world called the internet. Not scary at all.” Hahaha! Really, Kayla. What a way to put it. *grin*

    Your advice about getting to know people is very good! And I’m so glad you discovered that secret because…well, I probably wouldn’t be over here talking to you if you hadn’t, as it was your comment on my blog that first introduced us to each other. It’s been fun getting to know you, dear! And thanks for filling out the tag!! πŸ™‚

    Like

  5. Abbie Emmons (@AbbieeMusic) says:

    Thank you so much for tagging me, Kayla Marie!! ALSO YES LOL MY BLOG NAME IS CONFUSING. xD but you got it right. YOUR BLOGGING ADVICE = SPOT ONNNNN. It’s so true readers are the backbone of any blog. AND WOOT MY OPINION MATTERS — honestly I really needed to hear this today. Sometimes I feel annoying?? Especially if I have the Unpopular Opinionβ„’ in the crowd. :”’)

    ALSO I APOLOGIZE for not having commented on your blog until now! I really wanted to (because you’re such a lovely and loyal reader and your followship means so much to me truly) but I couldn’t find your blog link. SO YES HERE I AM TO STAY. ❀ *hugs you and gives you waffles*

    Like

  6. Kate Marie says:

    *Hugs back* (Also I can AAALWAYS use waffles, so than you for that, dear!)

    I am so honored to have you here at my humble little baby blog!!!

    SQUEE! I’m glad you liked my advice!!! These two things have helped me so much. πŸ™‚

    Ohmygoodness, YOU. ARE. NOT. ANNOYING. Your blog is an amazing piece of genius, my friend, and you have LIKE THREE BILLION followers, THE WORLD CLEARLY AGREES WITH ME, SO.

    SOMETIMES THE RIGHT THING IS UNPOPULAR. STICK UP FOR IT ANYWAY, GIRLFRIEND! Stay awesome. Stay YOU. Keep doing what it is you do. Amen and amen.

    Like

  7. Kate Marie says:

    D’awww!!! Thank you! You are the sweetest. πŸ™‚

    GAH, I KNOW, RIGHT??? Can you imagine where I would be right now if I hadn’t met YOUR AMAZING AND LOVELY SELF??? Probably crying in a dark alley somewhere. (True story.)

    Seriously, tho. I have made so many friends and met so many sweet people who have been so supportive! Y’ALL ARE AWESOME.

    And just to reiterate my point: at first I thought readers would come to ME – but IT DON’T WORK THAT WAY. You gotta go to them!

    Like

  8. Christine says:

    Awww, I love this tag! And I love, love, LOOOVE what you said! I agree 100% with everything.

    I’ve also struggled with the idea that my opinion doesn’t matter in the sea of millions of other opinions. But I learned, just as you said, that no one but myself can write things the way I do, no one has my exact opinions, no one can be ME but me. And that’s a pretty awesome thought.

    And the community! I’ve made the BEST of friends via blogging and diving into the writing community. I would not even sort of be where I am now in my writing life if not for all my amazing writing buddies. They say writing is a lonely job, but it shouldn’t be! Making writing friends and building a platform is so, so important. Not to mention FUN. I love it!

    Thank you so very much for tagging me!!! You’re just so sweet. ❀

    Like

  9. Cait @ Paper Fury says:

    Aww, thanks for the tag!! I AM HONOURED. And I love your advice! Community is very important if one wants to improve their blogging and connect and grow. And it’s so fun. Like it took me nearly 2 years blogging before I figured out how to connect with other bloggers…but it just got SO much more fun and encouraging when people would chat with me about books!!! LIKE COME LET US ALL FLAIL TOGETHER OMG!! hehe.

    Like

  10. ladyelasa says:

    This seems like a fun tag. Thanks for tagging me! And great things to learn. Networking is definitely essential. Happy blogging!

    storitorigrace.blogspot.com

    Like

Leave a Reply

